Cheesiest Potatoes Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I tried this recipe for Xmas Eve. Bad idea. I think the cheese, flour & milk should def. be combined/heated together before being poured onto the potatoes and baked, otherwise they do not mix properly on their own while baking. Some potatoes had no sauce on them at all and the flour didn't get mixed in in spots. It wasn't a disaster, it just wasn't that good, have a lot leftover, bad sign. Also, cooking this dish at 350 for 2 hours seems to be the right amt. of time at the correct temp. I am going to try this again with adjustments. This recipe has great potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I liked this recipe. I shredded my cheddar and added all the flour, paprika, salt and pepper to the cheese. Then I just layered this mixture with the potatoes and poured a cup of milk over it, next time however, I will also add a 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I baked mine at 375 in the middle of the oven for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Delicious and pretty easy! But bake at 350, NOT 250. That is definitely a typo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T. I cooked the dish for 90 minutes on 200 degrees celcius as the other cooks said that when they tried it was under cooked. I had to put the dish back into the oven because the dish was still under cooked. I put foil on the top for half an hour so that the cheese did not burn. My house mate told me later that it was still under cooked despite the fact I used a julliane. I am also sorry to say that this dish did not have any flavour. I used a really good cheese to make it to. I think it needs more work on it, such as. garlic herbs, or ingredients such as bacon or onions. You can choose whatever you like to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Stevens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
We liked these well enough. They took a lot longer to cook than specified and I took others comments to cover and turn the heat to 350. They were easy enough and just the right amount of cheese. I will make them again adding some seasoning to give them a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I didn't have any hash browns so I diced up potatoes. Cooked the casserole the same amount of time and it turned out great. I also used sour cream and mayonnaise and a little mild cheddar cheese with the american. We like things a little spicier so I added some cayenne and garlic. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I thought this was rather dry w/o a lot of taste. I added a sprinkle of onions for extra taste too. I will try again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
Great dish! We baked at 350 as posts suggested. We also covered the top layer of potatoes with a coating of paprika (because we like it so much) and then covered that with the last layer of cheese. It was watery when baked in a two quart casserole so next time we may use a baking pan to cook off some of the excess moisture. This will be a regular side dish from now on! Thanks Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
takes hours to cook at 250. maybe the recipe should say 350 or 450??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I liked this dish, but it didn't taste any different than au grautin potatoes. It was too dry for scalloped potatoes and needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States