Cheesiest Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I have tried so many potato soup recipes - but this one tops the charts! Definately double or triple this recipe if it is served as the main dish. I did tweek it a little based on other reviews. I fried bacon and set it aside to top the soup when serving -- then browned the onion in the bacon fat. I added a can of Campbell's cheddar soup and used only half of the shredded cheese. I also omitted the extra salt. The cheese and chicken broth had enough salt already. I put half of the potato/broth mixture into a blender, but saved some potatoes cubed to give it some texture. I have a big family and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
i've made this soup at least three times now. instead of pureeing the potatoes i mash them somewhat in the pot with a potato masher. also, i add 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk instead of the heavy cream. this soup is excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
This soup was indeed delicious! But I can't leave well enough alone, so I did make a few changes (or should I say, additions) to the recipe, including a few slices of bacon which I fried until crispy (for topping), and the reserved bacon drippings which helped cook the onions. I also put in about 1/2 cup diced celery and one small diced carrot to the onions. Like some other reviewers, I also only removed half of the potatoes to be pureed, since I wanted some chucky bits left. I also put in more broth, just to make it a little "soupier." But, it would have been great without these additions! I received highest reviews from my mother when I surprised her with a freshly made, hot bowl of this for lunch. She immediately called me back to exclaim, "Best potato soup ever!" And she is a wonderful cook, and grew up eating potato soups made by other great cooks as well! I couldn't have been happier! I wish I had made double the amount! I have tried various potato soups before... some which were passable, and some which were great, but this is the best yet. This is a sure-fire recipe, and would be great as is or expouned upon. It was delicious topped with crumbled bacon and chives, and I look forward to eating the remainder at supper tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Wow! I really enjoyed this soup! I sauteed a clove of minced garlic with the onions, used Yukon Golds, and substituted evaporated milk for the cream, and it turned out great. The cayenne pepper really adds a kick. I also garnished the soup with shredded cheddar, crumbled bacon, and green onion for a "loaded" cheese potato soup. The only think I'll do differently next time is leave bigger potato chunks when pureeing the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I can't count the number of times I've made this soup. It's so incredibly easy and delicious!! My husband, parents and co-workers love it when I serve it as either a starter or a meal in itself. Goes beautifully with a spring mix salad and fresh crusty bread. Sprinkling chopped chives and shredded sharp cheddar of top adds a little extra flavour and colour. Freezes extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Good, but almost too cheesy! And that's wierd, coming from me. I did like it though. I like chunks in my potato soup, so instad of pureeing it, I mashed it with a non-electic handheld masher, right in the pot. Left a bunch of small chunks, but still thickened nicely. Used 2/3 cup cream and 1/3 cup whole milk. I didn't even see the cayenne pepper on the recipe until I went to review it, so I will have to add it to the leftovers! Funny, because as I was eating it, I thought "a dash of cayenne would be great in this!". I used over 3 cups of potatoes, and added 1/2 cup water to the broth to compensate. Didn't add any salt and used Tillamook sharp cheddar. Sprinkled fresh parsley on top of each serving for extra color. Served with focaccia bread for dipping. It made a great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Really really good! I wish I had run across this recipe in the Fall instead of the Spring because it's excellent stick-to-your-ribs cold weather food. I used half & half instead of heavy cream, and a large can of diced potatoes, and threw in extra cheese since I had to use up some Monterey Jack too. It was still plenty rich tasting and the kids liked it as well. I scooped about 1/2 the potatoes mixture out of the saucepan and put it in the blender for about 10 seconds. I left the other half unblended. It was a great texture that way. Plenty thick enough too. The recipe makes a lot. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
The soup was v/good, but made a few changes because of my husband's diet and my own recipes. Used 3/4 of the potatoes and made up the weight with parsnip, omitted the cayenne and salt, but added Ground black pepper, a teaspoon of English mustard powed and a good dash of worcestershire sauce. Again because of diet cream was replaced with set Greek yoghurt. Serve with fresh crusty bread and topped with chopped fresh coriander - will use again, you can't beat a good mature English Cheddar. Strange picture though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
My husband and I love this soup. He is from PA and asked that I make a potato soup for him so I tried this one out. I added bacon and left the potatoes chucky style since he likes it that way. It was WONDERFUL! He totally loved it and has asked me to make it again. lol I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I have made this several times and it is a great hit with my family and friends. I changed it a little. I use vegitable broth instead of chicken broth(less salty taste). I smash about half of the potatoes. I also garnish it with crumbled bacon and fresh chives. Very excellent food! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States