Cheesiest Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Make sure to add enough salt to bring out the flavor of the cheese. I forewent the cream for 1% milk and it still turned out very yummy. Garlic is a good addition, as well. I'm recommending this to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I loved this recipe! I made a few modifications; I added a can of corn and only pureed half of the potatoes for a chunky soup. I also made it lower in fat by completely eliminating the cream. It still turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I doubled the recipe for this soup. I also left some chunks of potatoes instead of blending it all and adding a package of real bacon pieces. This was a very flavorful and cheesy soup...perfect for my husband with a bad cold. Have some crusty bread handy to dip! Thick and creamy. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was very yummy. The only downside-it was a bit salty and I only added a little. Next time I will not add salt at all until I have tasted the soup with all the ingredients in it. Otherwise, very good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
SO PERFECT! I tried another cheese and potato soup before this one and I thought that one was pretty okay but this one definitely beats it. The consitency is sooooooo smooth and the soup was overall so yummy! I'm throwing the other recipe out and replacing it with this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Very good, and easy to prepare. Trying to decrease the fat a little, I omitted the heavy cream, used 2% milk and a couple tablespoons of sour cream, and only about 1/2 the cheese(also 2%). I used vegeatble broth and I didn't use nearly as much onion, as I did not want the soup to have an oniony flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Delicious. Don't add salt til you taste the soup though. I didn't add any & it was plenty salty. Also I would reccomend measuring the cheese. I didn't want to measure it out & so added a bag of shredded sharp cheddar (2 cups). It over powered the soup. It was still very good, but tasted more like cheese soup with potatoes than potato soup with cheese. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was a great soup. The cayenne gave it a little kick that my family liked. I sauteed about 1/2 cup of chopped celery with onion only because I needed to get rid of it and I used half and half cream since that is what I had on hand. Next time I make this I will add one cooked diced potato after pureeing the soup. We like some chunks of potato in our soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
We couldn't stop eating this one - hard to believe it's soups really! Next time I'll make it as the main course instead of as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
This soup was indeed delicious! But I can't leave well enough alone, so I did make a few changes (or should I say, additions) to the recipe, including a few slices of bacon which I fried until crispy (for topping), and the reserved bacon drippings which helped cook the onions. I also put in about 1/2 cup diced celery and one small diced carrot to the onions. Like some other reviewers, I also only removed half of the potatoes to be pureed, since I wanted some chucky bits left. I also put in more broth, just to make it a little "soupier." But, it would have been great without these additions! I received highest reviews from my mother when I surprised her with a freshly made, hot bowl of this for lunch. She immediately called me back to exclaim, "Best potato soup ever!" And she is a wonderful cook, and grew up eating potato soups made by other great cooks as well! I couldn't have been happier! I wish I had made double the amount! I have tried various potato soups before... some which were passable, and some which were great, but this is the best yet. This is a sure-fire recipe, and would be great as is or expouned upon. It was delicious topped with crumbled bacon and chives, and I look forward to eating the remainder at supper tonight. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States