Cheesiest Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Amazing soup! Rather than frying the onions in butter, I used the left over bacon grease. Crumbled 4 slices of bacon in the soup. Added 1/4 cup of sour cream and used Cajun Seasoning rather than Cayenne Pepper, since I had none available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I, unfortunately did not have dill weed on hand, so I made it without and it was still great! I look forward to adding it in the next time around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Fast, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was delicious! Since I did not have cream on hand I used milk, I also used a potato masher instead of a blender. My 3 boys loved it, I will definately double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
pretty yummy chessy just the why I like iy the family loved it will be making this for sure this winter alot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This recipe is a great starting point for potato soup, but I added some ingredients which really made it fantastic. For starters, I fried some thick cut bacon (about 6 strips) in a pot until it was moderately crispy then put it aside for use later. I used a paper towel to soak up some of the extra bacon grease and added to that half of the butter (1 tbs) then added in the chopped onion and also some chopped carrot, celery, and a clove or 2 of garlic. I also used red potatoes instead of russets. I like my soups chunky, so I didn't puree or mash the potatoes - they break down a little while they cook anyway. Instead of the shredded cheddar cheese, I added a can of Campbell's cheddar soup, then I chopped up the bacon and added that to the mix. Along with the dill weed, I also added a touch of rosemary to really give it some flavor. The extra salt it not necessary because of the salt in the cheddar soup. For garnish, I served it with some shredded cheddar cheese on top and some chopped green onion. If you like a little kick to your soup a touch of cayenne pepper, brown mustard, or Tabasco sauce compliment the other flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Wonderful! My fiancee and I both loved it! Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was amazingly yummy and sooo easy! Great recipe for a cold Colorado winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Excellent soup. I pureed mine in the food processor, as a friend who has food issues will be eating this soup with me. It was creamy and delicious. I used 1% milk and some sour cream instead of the heavy cream. Almost tripled the cheese and used a dash of hot sauce instead of cayenne. Excellent base for soup! Can't wait to try more variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My whole family loved this soup. My wife has been taking chemo and I have been looking for recipes that are pureed and have a great flavor for her to eat This recipe was great for her. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States