Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I followed this recipe to a T. However I had mixed reviews from everyone at the table. Hubby liked it, my kids were harder to please on this dish...but the one thing they agreed on was they didn't care for the bread crumbs. Maybe use a lot less then a whole cup. And maybe Panko bread crumbs. The bread crumbs could have soaked up too much of the creamyness to this dish. 1/2 cup or less probably would have been fine. And the kids didn't care for the kielbosa in it either...which I found to be strange because they love kielbosa. I thought it had a nice flavor overall, but agreed to much bread crumbs. If the kielbosa would have been left out I feel they would have enjoyed it better. One child, who will eat almost anything, said it tasted funny and doesn't want me to make it again...Hubby wants it again. So this review on rating it has been very difficult. I will say I'll attempt it again, with some different modifications, to see if it suits everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
My family loved this. I only used half of onion, added 1 tsp of ground mustard, used 1 cup half/half - 1 cup milk. Used 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs mixed with melted butter for the topping. Adding the Kielbasa makes this very filling, added a salad and that was dinner. Only 3 of us and had enough leftovers for the next night. Will be making again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harriman, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I tend to make this a bit differently from my sister... extra cheese, less onion, and crushed crackers instead of breadcrumbs. But it's a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
My family loved this. I've made it twice. My changes/suggestions would be to make sure you cook the onion long enough so its not too strong. I even use part whole wheat flour part unbleached. I also used 1/2 the breadcrumbs and substituted panko bread crumbs and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My whole family liked this one but I think I would use about 1/2 the onion next time rather than the whole thing. Also i shredded the cheese rather than cubing it because I find that it melts into the roux easier and more smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Wonderful! I am very picky about my Mac 'n cheese and this was great! My kids panicked about the kielbasa at first, but they liked it once they tasted it! I did use a blend of sharp and mild cheddar cheeses to tame the flavor for us. The only change I will make for next time is to use about 1/2 of the bread crumbs. They were way to thick for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAFFELDT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I used a package of little smokies instead of kielbasa. Also added some cheeze whiz and shredded cheddar cheese, istead of the cubed to the rest of ingredients. Forget the bread crumbs A dash of lea and perrins, soy sauce, a few chopped green onions, mushrooms...optinal...the more cheese the better....this was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was ok but wasn't very cheesy and I added extra cheese to it. Next time I will add a cheese like velveeta to help make it creamier and cheesier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I loved this recipie. I have tried to make homemade mac and cheese before and it turned out clumpy. It may have been user error, but for some reason, this one worked for me. The only thing I did different was I added a little bit of Mrs Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning after I had the cheese sauce all melted. Even the child that we call the pickatarian loved this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was ok..I was expecting more rich cheese flavor..Instead of cubed cheese, I would use shredded..The cubes make the prep time way too long..Otherwise, it's just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States