Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I had a little trouble getting the flour/milk/butter mixture to thicken in the time stated on the recipe, but it ended up working out. My only real beef with this recipe was the dry bread crumbs on top. I think they needed to be mixed with some kind of fat - whether cheese or butter. Plain dry bread crumbs on top resulted in a dry and sandy texture on top rather than that crunch I was looking forward to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATHOLIC75
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is an excellent base recipe. I did not have kielbasa, and after reading the reviews, I was not sure if there would be enough cheese sauce for all of the items with the kielbasa. I made the recipe mostly as is, except I added four bacon slices (diced) and a little parsley. The macaroni was so cheesy, as there was plenty of sauce minus the kielbasa. And, I did not add a full cup of bread crumbs. I thought it would be too much. Instead, I added crumbs from 4 Ritz crackers. Great recipe. I may try the kielbasa in the future if I increase the cheese mixture too. ***I made it a second time with kielbasa, and whoa!! What a difference, it was delicious. I increased the sauce by 50% to make sure that there would be plenty of sauce with the sausage. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Easy recipe, but has a strange taste from the onions. The first time I made this my family refused to eat it. I followed the recipe exactly except the kielbasa. Just made it for a second time and drastically reduced the onion and used extra sharp cheese shredded with a bit more than called for from some leftovers in the fridge. MUCH better! (I also left the breadcrumbs off this time and would have used Ritz crackers if I had any)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Fantastic!!! I just used Extra sharp cheddar instead bc we like a stronger flavor. I also tried the panko bread crumbs and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I love mac and cheese and this was delicious. I added more extra sharp cheese, 3 wedges of laughing cow, 1 tbsp of dijon mustard, brocolli and used whole wheat pasta. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Made this recipe as follows along with adding about 4 oz. of velvetta per other viewers recommendations. Still turned out very dry. I asked everyone to at least try one bite being the look was not very appealing as well. The taste was just as bad as the look. Dry and taste less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Yum! I added an egg while I mixed in the cheese to give it an egg-y flavor. I thought it was going to be a disaster, because my roux looked awful, but everything turned out yummy. Definitely will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caley022
Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This recipe made the perfect roux. In lieu of using sausage, I had cooked a ham the night before which I diced and added. I also did not have sharp cheddar on hand (this was a last minute meal) so I used 4 oz Monterrey cheddar and 4 oz of Colby Jack and 2 American cheese slices (told you it was last minute). I can't tell you how unbelievably good the cheese sauce was. I also used Panko crumbs instead of regular bread crumbs. Excellent basic recipe and easy to finagle based on what was in my pantry/fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I loved this recipe but I did as others said and used panko instead of bread crumbs. I also put 2 slices of velveeta into the sauce. I didn't use all of the cheddar in the sauce but opted to spread half of it on top of the recipe. My kids LOVED it! Thank you!! Will defnitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is the first time that I have actually made home made macaroni instead of the typical mac and cheese out of the box. I absolutely loved it. I used little smokey sausages and added extra cheese my son loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States