Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! My nickname is also Cheese, so I just had to try this recipe when looking for the perfect homemade mac & cheese. I used hot dogs and didn't use a full pound because I didn't want to be overwhelmed. It was the perfect ratio. I substituted panko for bread crumbs and didn't measure it out, only sprinkled it over the top with some parmesan cheese. Also, only used 1/2 an onion and it was the perfect amount of flavor. I'm thinking of adding a little bit of garlic and peas the next time. A cooking note - when I was whisking in the flour & milk, I had to turn the burner up to at least medium because my pan is really thick aluminum and it was not getting up to a simmer. I can't wait to make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good stuff! Thanks for the recipe! A couple reviews said it could be cheesier, so I used 12 oz shredded sharp cheddar cheese, but really it was more because I didn't want to store 2 oz of cheese. It was plenty cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Neumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Good base recipe. Used leftover rotisserie chicken in place of sausage and added broccoli. Per other reviewers added some garlic. Used crushed up Ritz crackers on top in place of bread crumbs. Could have used a bit more sauce/liquid (will do that next time). My 2 yr old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great recipe! I followed the recipe as printed and have 3 people who want me to pack the left overs for their lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
A bit bland but if you add a touch of garlic it's great. Also since my wife won't eat keilbasa I added a pound of hamburger. Made for a good meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
At the time I had to use cooked hot dogs instead of kielbasa sausage. I added two cloves of garlic (minced) and just cooked it in with the onion (used only 1/4 onion). Also I shredded the cheese, not cubed. My boyfriend LOVED it though. It's hard for me to impress him considering he and his parents are all cooks! Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodie.s
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Yummy! I did make some changes: I didn't have kielbasa, so I used some diced bacon from a package of bacon ends-n-pieces. Also, I had some cream cheese left over (about 3 oz.) that I added to the cheese sauce. I used part seasoned dry bread crumbs and part crushed crackers. I didn't measure the crumbs/crackers, just added until I liked the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Yum! I made a few changes. Instead of kielbasa, I added shredded chicken. I also mixed in garlic, spinach and tomatoes. Perfect dinner for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
The whole family thought it was really good. I only had shredded cheese, so I used that instead and it worked just as well. I also crushed garlic croutons and sprinkled over the top and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States