Cheese's Baked Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I have to give this 4 stars because I made several improvements to make this turn out 5 star-fantastic! First, 1 oz of elbows per person just wasn't going to cut it. As a rule, I use 2 oz per pasta per person for main dishes. I used shallot instead of onion, used less butter because my kielbasa cooked out quite a bit of grease, and made several additions along with the cheese: I almost doubled the cheese, which I grated, I used garlic salt for the salt, white pepper for the pepper, added a squirt of Dijon mustard and just a little extra milk since it got thick with the extra cheese. I did use the full amount of bread crumbs, but I mixed them with a little melted butter first and it came out just great. The end result was very good. Hubby gave it 5 stars, noting the smokyness of the kielbasa compliments the tang of the sharp cheddar well! I won't be making this all the time (I love meatless M&C way too much), but next time I have some kielbasa to use up I will surely consider this recipe again!!! Thanks glittergirl and Auntie Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is a favorite at our house and has become a mainstay in our recipe list! We LOVE this is usually have the ingredients for it on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
for the fact my VERY picky child ate this with a smile it automatically gets 5 stars. The only adjustment I made was reducing the onion amount to appx 1/4 a cup and I added 2 cloves minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Really good. I used 3/4 tsp of onion powder because I didn't have an onion. I used turkey kielbasa. Think it was better unbaked... but I used whole wheat pasta which always needs more liquid. Slightly different flavour than plain mac and cheese. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was OK, but I found it to be kind of oily, probably from the sausage and also the block of cheese. Also, if I make this again one change I will make is to use onion powder rather than chopped onion. I found the texture to interfere with the creaminess that I want in mac & cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was just okay for us. I followed the recipe exactly - couldn't get the cheese to melt without being lumpy and stringy. The flavor was okay, but I probably won't put the work in to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
i was looking for a recipe similar to my grandmothers and this one was very close it was great the only thing different i did was added bacon also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight but had a few changes. I cut down the butter a bit..seemed like a lot of butter. Also, added fresh minced garlic with the onions. Then, added dry mustard with the s and p. I did not have sausage so substituted bacon and had sharp cheddar, fontina and Jack cheese on hand so used them all. Made my own bread crumbs but did not use a cup, I think a cup would have been way to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Regardless of what the other reviews say, I found the amount of cheesiness to be just perfect *as it is* in this recipe. All six of us ate and enjoyed this excellent homey side dish, the kielbasa was a great, meaty touch. The one great versatile thing? I only had eight ounces of sharp cheddar...so I threw in some mozzarella I had in the fridge and called it good. But, I only ended up sprinkling half a cup of bread crumbs on the dish, not the full cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This has become a favorite dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States