Cheesecake Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
When I was a kid, way back when,:) my mom made these exact same lemon squares; every second Saturday and they were sooooo good; I thought I would never find a recipe exactly the same, alas. I made these last night and I also added extra lemon, and they were so awesome. Okay; I must get to my kitchen, I am making my Pork hock/feet etal and dumpling stew I put them over boiled potatoes it is an awesome dish with the mushroom gravy; but very high in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
My family loved these and are super easy to make! My husband said it could use a tad more lemon flavor, but my daughter said it was perfect...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made these tonight and they are phenomenal!! I spilled quite a bit of my lemon juice while squeezing my last lemon so I tossed in a shot of Limoncello to even things out and it worked perfectly. Definitely making them again...my hubby said it ruined him because he used to think the boxed variety were just fine until I made these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Zarza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
OMG its now my Favorite. Made as written except for increased lemon filling by another 50%. Will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
OMG!! This was so easy and delicious. I only had one lemon on hand which yielded 1/4 c. juice. I had frozen lemonade concentrate... used a little less than 1/4 c. and added enough water to make the 1/4 c. -- maybe 1-2 Tbs. I cut back on the sugar a bit because of the sugar in the concentrate. Great flavor!! I also used another reviewer's suggestion and placed a sour cream topping on top to make it a little prettier for our reunion (2 c. sour cream, 1/3 c. sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla) -- worked great! Lovely recipe -- thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I changed this up a bit, sort of combining two recipes: what came out was a Lemon Bar Cheesecake, which I plan to submit as a new recipe. Any who...the layers separate excellently and with more lemon juice, the flavor was perfect! I cut the sugar almost in half and used fresh lemon juice and a little bit of rind in the lemon layer. Since I cooked this in a springform pan, I served slices with fresh blueberries on top. YUMMY! Perfect for summer :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Tart, tangy & delicious! I followed the advice of a few other reviewers and added the sour cream topping to finish it off. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt to the shortbread crust and 1 tsp. of vanilla to the cheesecake mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by voraciousgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe turned out great on my first try! I doubled the lemon filling and had to bake it longer, kept checking on it till the filling appeared to be set. Delicious. Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
OUTSTANDING!! I made these "as is" although I read all the reviews. I used parchment to line a 9x13 pan which worked fine. I was glad that others mentioned how "strange" it looked after you add the cream cheese layer--- but don't worry, as it bakes everything works out great. The taste is tart but creamy. I garnished with some whipped cream and a slice of fresh strawberry. We liked these MUCH BETTER than just a plain lemon bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Photo by TexasIsLove89
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made these for my co-workers and they were a huge hit!! So delicious! I added a drop of lemon extract to the cheesecake mixture to give it an extra kick. I also took the advice of another reviewer and made a sweetened sour cream topping (1 cup sour cream, 1 drop lemon extract, 3 tsp. confectioner's sugar) along with a blackberry sauce ( 1 pint blackberries, the juice and zest of 1 lemon, 2 tbsp. sugar-- simmer on the stove 5 minutes). Really amazing flavor and a very refreshing treat! Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States