Cheesecake Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I used a chocolate cake mix and I couldn't keep the 2 layers from mixing together. Tasted okay, the raspberry sauce is what saved it (I'll be making the sauce again--it was wonderful! Used creme de cassis instead of kirschwasser). Looked more like marbled brownies than cheesecake. I made it for my Bible Study and they liked it but said they wouldn't have guessed it was cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made this for a potluck dinner. Reading the other reviews, I took some of the cake batter and put it in a small loaf tin and I reduced the cream cheese to 3 bricks (light), 3 eggs and 1 cup of sugar. It came out great although it looked very different.... :-) It was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a great cheesecake. It does cook up big. I made the topping and kept it separate. Just added topping after sliced and put on a plate. The topping needed more raspberries to thicken. I did change cream cheese to fat free, and used Splenda instead of sugar and egg substitute instead of real eggs. When I made the cake, I used egg substitute also. This lowered the overall calories to under 180 per slice and almost no fat. Lovely dessert. Time consuming but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Looks good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
the cheese cake rules
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
It was a great idea... but somehow, someway, something went wrong... the crust and topping merged... the taste was alright...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this for my husbands birthday party, however, I must have beat the cream cheese and egg mixture too long because it came out too airy and cracked across the top, as well as was not very attractive looking. I ended up making another cake for the party, however, my kids ate the creamcheese cake despite its unattractive appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
What a great idea! I didn't have yellow cake so used white instead, it was very good but I think it would be better with the yellow cake (or really any flavor). The white cake and the cheesecake were the same color and the cake's taste didn't particularly stand out so that's why the 4 stars but it was my doing not the recipe. Will defintely make this again but change the cake to yellow or chocolate to bring a bit of adventure to the taste and look. Also, just used rasberry topping from the can. Everyone enjoyed it! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I made this dessert in a 9x13 pan that is 2 inches high. I was able to add the raspberry puree and the Cool-Whip before placing the dessert in the fridge. It was amazing! I'll definitely make this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
This is a great recipe for gatherings/parties. It tastes like cheesecake, but with a light cake underneath. Simple and Clever. I followed the other suggestions and baked this in both a 9x13 pan and another smaller rectangular pan. I topped them with a ready made cherry pie filling instead to the raspberry(to make my life easier) and it was DELICIOUS! And the proof was in the pudding- people loved it and asked for the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States