Cheesecake Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
I don't know what the heck everyone is talking about - this is the worst cheesecake recipe I have ever tried. I have made tons of different cheesecakes and have never had them turn out as awful as these cupcakes. There seems to be something missing or too much of something. The cheesecake was undercooked even when I followed the exact directions, the sour cream topping did not "set" and the overall consistency was poor. Do NOT use this recipe - you'll waste time & money
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
These mini cheesecakes were an immediate hit. I also used the standard 1 egg per brick of cream cheese rule and they turned out great. I also made the sour cream topping early and refridgerated it so it would thicken as per another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I made these last night with high hopes. I really wanted to love these as I love anything and everything cheesecake, yet had never made one in my life. I let them cool on the rack in the pan, and as soon as I was sure they were room temp, I just had to try one. I immediately noticed how overwhelmingly eggy they were. Not wanting to give up on them so soon, I refrigerated them overnight per peoples' suggestions in their reviews. They are better now for sure, but not QUITE the dense cheesecake texture and taste I was hoping for. I swirled some melted chocolate in some of them, which cuts the egg-like taste and texture some, but it unfortunately also cuts the cheesecake flavor as well. I may try these again with less eggs, but I won't try them again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good idea, but needs some tweaks or it is too eggy. I used the standard "1 egg per 1 brick of cream cheese rule" for these and they turned out fine. I added the sourcream to the mixture and skipped the whole topping process. I also added 2 TB flour to help set them. I halved the batch and added cocoa powder to half the mix for chocoloate cupcakes. I let my daughter top them with sprinkles, strawberries, chocolate sauce or caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I'm sorry, but this is the worst cheesecake recipe I've ever used. It tastes like eggs, not cheese cake. I now have 48 egg cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Never use that many eggs for cheesecake. One egg per pkg of cream cheese seems to work the best. I used real bourbon vanilla for the topping and it tasted way better than the artificial stuff. And definitely serve these cold. Cheesecake should be cold! I made these for my son's 13th birthday party and everybody loved them, but only with 3 eggs (actually one batch only had 2 eggs oops! but tasted great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This recipe is quick, easy, and always a hit! I make these all the time for office parties, meetings, and other events and get asked for the recipe all the time (pineapple topping if a favorite!). One tip: if you refrigerate the sour cream topping a bit before you put it on the cupcakes it thickens up and the sugar in it is much less granulated. Other than that, this is a fantastic recipe and I recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
I changed this to suit my diet plan by substituting Splenda for the sugar (cup for cup). Since there's no graham cracker crust these have only about 2 grams of carbs per serving! Satisfies the sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
I make these often to serve at my bed and breakfast "tea time". I can have them made and ready to eat(warm)in 45 min. That's allowing 35 min. of cooking time. My customers love them and I've given out the recipe several times. I usually double the recipe and have enough for two teas. I also have to double the cupcake papers as the bottoms tend to burn in the 30 mins. cooking. I love the sour cream topping and use it on lots of different breakfast breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
These were absolutely decadent! I made the mini ones and boy were they a hit! It is a little more work to do the minis but def. worth it. Made a great presentation. Thanks! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States