Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I'm confused by those who say this recipe doesn't compare to real cheesecake, or it almost tastes like cheesecake, or this is easier to make then cheesecake, etc. This IS cheesecake! The filling is classic ingredients with standard amounts and ratios of ingredients. The crust is rich, light and flavorful, and the nuts, which I chopped finely, gave these another dimension of flavor. I doubled the filling mixture and was happy I did. I used the lemon juice called for and it was perfect, especially since I swirled blueberry preserves through the filling before I baked it. This is creamy and delicious, and my addition of swirling the preserves throughout gave this a little flavor boost. I can't wait to make flavor variations with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Couple of notes - definitely double the filling if you're serving this as a dessert (9-12 servings rather than the 36 it says), but if you're making it to cut into teeny squares as party refreshments or something, you're probably okay as is. Also, as every cheesecake-baker knows, the cream cheese will blend better if softened. Don't melt it, as one reviewer suggested. This is pretty easy and good, but I don't really love the lemon flavor and would probably leave it out if I made it again. My family didn't agree with me however, my mom in particular loved the lemon. So it's all a matter of personal preference! Just note that it IS a noticeable flavor, so if lemon's not your favorite, definitely omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Very quick, very easy. I used a muffin tin instead of an 8x8 pan and they came out beautifully. Nice for individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Everyone had a fit about this recipe, especially my husband who loves cheesecake. The crust is like a shortbread and very buttery tasting. One thing I did that I won't do next time is I pressed the crumb mixture down in the pan pretty hard, making it harder to remove the bars when they were done. Once I got them out, though, they were fantastic! Another thing I'll do is cook them just a tad longer, maybe 5 minutes. They were a little soft unless I kept them refrigerated until right before serving. Not much of a problem, though, since they disappeared so quickly!! This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This cheesecake bar was easy to make and tasted just like cheesecake. I omitted the chopped walmuts for the crust and it turned out great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very easy and quite yummy! To "dress-up" my bars, I drizzled melted chocolate, white chocolate, and seedless raspberry jam on top, then cut them into triangles. It looked like I had spent lots of time on them, but I didn't! Thanks for the recipe, Frances!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Here are a couple tips for cheesecake beginners: 1) Make sure that all the ingredients are at room temperature before mixing. 2) Cream the cream cheese first, then add in sugar. Mix just until smooth (NOT fluffy!). 3) Hand-mixing is more preferable than using an electric mixer, because this way you can avoid incorporating too much air into the batter, which results in bubbles and cracks in the final product. However, if you insist on using an electric mixer or a stand mixer, keep the speed on low (with the exception of medium-low for creaming the cheese) and scrape the bowl frequently. 4) Well grease the pan before baking in order to prevent cracking. 5) When pouring the batter onto the crust, pass it through a sieve and use a rubber spatula to break down any lumps. 6) If you want to double the filling as some other reviewers have suggested, bake at 300 degree F for 35 - 40 minutes, or until the cheesecake is set 2 inches from edge but the center still looks a bit wet. Do NOT open the oven door while baking. Take the cheesecake out of the oven immediately after it is done (do NOT leave it in the oven like you will do with a regular cheesecake) and cool on a wire rack. It tastes best after being refrigerated for one day. I hope these tips are helpful for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This recipe came out fabulously. I substituted toasted almonds for the walnuts in the crust. I also doubled the filling recipe, and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the filling. I cooked for 40 minutes because of the extra filling. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
A quick and easy way to make cheesecake when you have the craving! These are so good. You definitely don't get 36 servings out of an 8 inch pan though. I can't wait to try these again with different toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I made these for company and they loved them. Ate every last one! No changes necessary. Leslie in MN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States