Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was an easy recipe and very tasty. I used pecans instead of walnuts (because my husband doesn't like walnuts) and it was great! Next time I might try grating some fresh lemon peel for the filling, but it was delicious just following the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These were okay for a quick snack. I wasn't a fan of the crust. I would have preferred a graham cracker crust, but I didn't have that in the pantry, so I kept with the recipe. A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I'm not really a nut person, but my boyfriend is so I added the nuts anyway. I chopped up really fine as sort of a compromise. We loved it! It disappeared quick. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I have no idea what everyone is raving about with these. The bottom was hard and dry, and the filling (which I did double) was so bland (I opted out of the lemon juice as many other reviewers did). I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Success. Bake only until the middle starts to become not jiggly on the top. The edges should not brown. A toothpick will NOT come out clean. Let cool & refrigerate before cutting. Creamy and wonderful instead of spongy and eggy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jkcooks
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were pretty yummy, although I did make a few changes in execution. I left the ingredients as is, save for fruit topping, and doubled the filling to make mini cheesecakes in a muffin pan. I used the recipe for the crust and am sort of on the fence about it. I thought the shrotbread flavor really suited the lemon in the cheesecake, but there was just too much of a butter flavor for me. It really seemed to overpower the cheesecake flavor. I topped with some strawberry sauce over fresh blueberries, and all in all it's pretty good. I loved the lemon in the filling and enjoy the lightness of it. I do like my cheesecake to be a little thicker, and richer, though, so I'm not sure this will be my go-to recipe. EDITED TO ADD: I wanted to add that the lemon is really very good in this recipe, at least use some of it on your first attempt. Also, I genuinely think it's a mistake to taste this cheesecake, or really any cheesecake the same day you bake it. It hasn't had time to set properly and the flavors won't really meld and intensify until a full day of cooling. On the first day (after hours of cooling), I thought these were pretty good. After two days in the fridge, these were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
The filling layer was very thin- the picture must be a triple dose. The flavor was decent for the quick aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
These are really easy and perfect. I agree with one reviewer that you should let the cream cheese soften so it's easier to mix. I also doubled the filling but not the lemon juice. Next time, I might omit the walnuts for a full smooth texture, but I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Super yummy! I left out the walnuts because I didn't have any and I'm not really a fan anyways. I usually don't like cheesecake crusts but this one was soo good! I swirled in raspberry jelly as well . Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were yummy--the filling is a very good base cheesecake bar recipe that you could do a lot with. I made mine in silicone cupcake holders, used a graham cracker crust and popped them out of the holders before I served them with strawberries on top. They were yummy and cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States