Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe, the filling is sturdy yet yielding. I made a half sheet tray, so I double the crust and quadrupled the filling and it came out just right. I also used ground pecans in the crust for a tasty alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I'm a sucker for cheesecake but have never got up the guts to make my own. So I decided to start out with a simpler recipe. And oh man was this a delicious recipe. My whole family gobbled these up in one night. To "jazz it up" I added raspberry preserves and fresh raspberries after baking. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made the filling of these bars and then made this for the crust * 1 1/2 cups finely ground graham crackercrumbs * 1/3 cup white sugar * 6 tablespoons butter, melted * 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional) Mix graham cracker crumbs, sugar, melted butter or margarine, and cinnamon until well blended . Press mixture into pan Bake at 375 degrees And then topped with *4 oz fine-quality 60% chocolate (not unsweetened), coarsely chopped *1/2 stick butter, cut into pieces *2 teaspoons light corn syrup melt it all together over a LOW heat (or double boiler) then pour over room temp cheesecake bars - refrigerate! Turned out Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was an easy recipe and very tasty. I used pecans instead of walnuts (because my husband doesn't like walnuts) and it was great! Next time I might try grating some fresh lemon peel for the filling, but it was delicious just following the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These were okay for a quick snack. I wasn't a fan of the crust. I would have preferred a graham cracker crust, but I didn't have that in the pantry, so I kept with the recipe. A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I'm not really a nut person, but my boyfriend is so I added the nuts anyway. I chopped up really fine as sort of a compromise. We loved it! It disappeared quick. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I have no idea what everyone is raving about with these. The bottom was hard and dry, and the filling (which I did double) was so bland (I opted out of the lemon juice as many other reviewers did). I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Success. Bake only until the middle starts to become not jiggly on the top. The edges should not brown. A toothpick will NOT come out clean. Let cool & refrigerate before cutting. Creamy and wonderful instead of spongy and eggy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jkcooks
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These were pretty yummy, although I did make a few changes in execution. I left the ingredients as is, save for fruit topping, and doubled the filling to make mini cheesecakes in a muffin pan. I used the recipe for the crust and am sort of on the fence about it. I thought the shrotbread flavor really suited the lemon in the cheesecake, but there was just too much of a butter flavor for me. It really seemed to overpower the cheesecake flavor. I topped with some strawberry sauce over fresh blueberries, and all in all it's pretty good. I loved the lemon in the filling and enjoy the lightness of it. I do like my cheesecake to be a little thicker, and richer, though, so I'm not sure this will be my go-to recipe. EDITED TO ADD: I wanted to add that the lemon is really very good in this recipe, at least use some of it on your first attempt. Also, I genuinely think it's a mistake to taste this cheesecake, or really any cheesecake the same day you bake it. It hasn't had time to set properly and the flavors won't really meld and intensify until a full day of cooling. On the first day (after hours of cooling), I thought these were pretty good. After two days in the fridge, these were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
The filling layer was very thin- the picture must be a triple dose. The flavor was decent for the quick aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States