Cheeseburger Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I was looking for something simple and filling to bring to work (and make use of a bunch of ingredients I had lying around), and this fit the bill. Delicious! I made a LOT of changes based on the ingredients I had available. I sauteed the onion separately, then substituted 2 cups frozen peas & carrots mix and a 12oz can of whole kernel corn in place of the fresh carrots and canned veg mix in the recipe. I left out the celery entirely. I also threw in about a teaspoon of minced garlic. Velveeta costs more than real cheese in my grocery store, so I substituted 250 grams of shredded cheddar and an 8oz brick of cream cheese. Used 3 cups cooked rice instead of 2. Added 1 tbsp Worcestershire, 1/2 tsp liquid smoke, and 1 tsp crushed chilies for seasoning. I ran out of room in the pot when it came time to add the milk, so that got left out. Made for a nice, thick, incredibly cheesy soup. Only thing I would change further is to increase the amount of ground beef to 2 lbs. Will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe, Charlotte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
A quick, easy, tasty comfort meal! I did try a couple of time-saver steps - I used my handheld grater to shred my carrot, celery, and onion, and I started my broth with veggies while also browning my beef. I also made my ruce and kept it separate, just ladeling the soup over a bowlful to serve. Feel free to add your own favorite seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda at Bit of Flavor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent! Instead of mixed veggies, my son chose green beans and carrots. Otherwise, no changes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was really good. I did make a few changes: I left out the celery(as others have suggested) and the sour cream. I tasted the soup before it was time to add the sour cream and thought it was great without it, so I never added it. Next time I will leave out the peas and green beans as well. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was deeeeelicious! Made a few changes, though. I love Johnsonville Italian sausages, especially made as a "burger" with cheese dripping from it. So, I used mild Johnsonville Italian sausage in place of the ground beef in this soup. I also chunked my celery, carrots and onions instead of chopping them. Oh, so good! If you love sausage, try it in this recipe. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was quite tasty! Even my pickiest child had a 2nd portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I decided while cooking this that I'd tweak a few things to both add flavor and make it more "cheeseburgery". First I added Lawry's seasoning salt to the meat while it was cooking because my mom always added it to her homemade hamburger patties when I was growing up. I threw in some minced garlic with the meat and veggies as well. Since I didn't have celery (and don't eat it on my cheeseburgers anyway), I just added some celery salt for the flavor, as well as chili powder. Used cream o' chicken soup and frozen veggies since it's what I had. Went lighter on the velveeta and milk (about half), but added some shredded mild cheddar (which I also put on top w/ the sour cream/chives for garnish). And since my idea of a really good cheeseburger includes dill pickles, I added 4 teaspoons of PICKLE JUICE for an extra tang. I personally think this was the perfect touch. So yummy - thanks Charlotte for the great idea for a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't follow everything exactly, cause I didn't have some of the ingredients. I pretty much put all the veggies, beef, and broth. I used frozen veggies, I didn't use the processed cheese, or the cheese soup. I just added a few cups of cheddar cheese. It was still delicious! I don't like all the processed foods, but great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Fabulous recipe! My four kids and husband loved it! I used italian sausage in place of ground beef, brown rice in place of white, and only 1 1/4 c. milk. Instead of sour cream on top, we used croutons. I plan to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Marie
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
My kids didn't like it, but not saying it wasn't decent. If you like cheeseburgers this is definitely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States