Cheeseburger Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I am giving it 5 stars for this recipe with my alterations. I didn't have an jalapeno pepper ~ but did have a small can of green chilies, we don't like bell peppers, and never use processed American Cheese (is that unAmerican??) So I followed the recipe without the bell pepper, and used 1/2 a pound of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. Then, upon serving, my husband and I garnished our bowls of soup with our desired amount of green chilies. That way our young daughters who do not have a palate for spicy didn't have to have it. Both girls loved it without the chilies, and my husband and I loved it with the chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
We call this Spicy Cheeseburger soup and love it! It is great when the weather is cold and wet and really helps to warm you up. I would recommend this soup to everyone. Also, I usually crumble a few pieces of bacon on top to give it a bit more of a smoky flavor and my husbnad loves it. I use the low fat velveeta cheese and it makes the soup rich and creamy without all the added calories. So, if you want to try something different but awesome, then this is the soup for you. One more thing, you can increase or decrease the heat by adding or subtracting anywhere from 1/4t to 1t of cayenne pepper. I hope this helps, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lana
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Wow! that really surprised me. Family loved it. I chopped up everything ahead of time (2 hours).I sliced the carrot instead of grating. Very tasty and so easy, I will definitly make it again and again. Thanks for the recipe./////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////I had to add another review for this recipe WE love this recipe. Recently I tried it with chicken instead of ground beef and used chicken bouillon instead of the beef bouillon. It was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe is a standby - and works wonderfully even if you don't have all the exact ingredients. I have used Campbell's cheddar cheese soup in place of the Velveeta, have crumbled bacon on top when serving, have used evaporated milk in place of regular milk, have just used the juice from a jar of jalapenos. I also make rivvels (i.e. dumplings) and have even made some amish noodles, boiled separately and added to the soup. My husband, who loves to jokingly complain, "I worked all day for SOUP?!" will ALWAYS say it's the best soup he's ever had -- and go back for more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This is so tasty. I too left the cayenne pepper and jalepenos out and it tasted just fine. I served this during a fall weekend with warm sourdough bread and have put it in a crockpot to watch a Sunday football game. It goes over real big for both men and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was a great starting point for a good CB soup. I omitted the potatoes. Ran the veggies through a food processor after they cooked down. Added more milk and some heavy cream. Used half American cheese and half Velveeta. To make it taste more like a liquid cheese burger I added some Montreal Steak seasoning, a little ketchup, and a little yellow mustard. I diced up a few roma tomatoes and a head of lettuce that I tossed in last. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This soup is delicious! I made a double batch so I could freeze some, but we ate it all (2 of us) before I had a chance to freeze any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This soup is great for a cold night! We made it for a family movie night. I used canned chopped green chiles in place of the peppers. I also added a can of corn, some pepper, and more garlic. We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This soup was AWESOME! It is hearty and yummy. I always have to hand out the recipe everytime I serve this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My kids wouldn't touch this, but I enjoyed it. :) I omitted the onions and the spicy stuff, and made it with 2cups of shredded cheddar instead of the processsed stuff. I served the soup w/ bacon crumbles on top (all cheeseburgers need bacon!) YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States