Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Lena loved this, the longer it simmers the better. I added garlic and pepper to soup before milk.I also used shredded cheese. At table added more shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
After seeing this soup in the daily email, I was excited to try it. In the end, I didn't see what is special about it. It came out under seasoned and thin. After seasoning, and adding dry milk to thicken it, it was satisfactory. I did like that the carrots and celery sneak some veggies in for nutritional value. For the high calories and fat content, I do not think it was indulgent enough. I would not make this recipe again, but I'm not sad I tried it. For fewer calories, a hearty chili would be much more satisfying. For cheesy, creamy indulgence, I'll go for a broccoli cheese soup before making this again. Edit: I came back to edit my review. Two days later, after sitting in the fridge, I ate more as a leftover. The soup was A LOT better after sitting for awhile. The flavor profile developed more. I give this recipe 3 stars on the day it's prepared. I'd bump it to a 4, with more seasoning, thickening with dry milk, and sitting in the fridge for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyHoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Oh that's just superb. Such a thick and tasty soup - a real warming lunch on a cold day. I'll certainly be making that again, probably very soon as my other half who doesn't like any soup other than Chinese style chicken & sweetcorn loved it! Good news is, we have enough to take to work tomorrow to warm up for lunch again. I added a sprinkle of cayenne powder when I added the basil and parsley, just because I like a bit of chili relish with a cheeseburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
My Grandchildren love this soup served in a bread bowl! I changed the chicken broth for beef and evaporated milk for the regular milk. This is a great base recipe to use with other ingredients such as ground turkey or chicken. I even made a Mexican version with canned chilies, Jack cheese, and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used one pound of ground beef and substituted butternut squash for the potatoes. Also used sharp cheddar cheese. Was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as directed, and it was really good. Then, because no hamburger is complete without dill pickles, I added a tsp. of dried dill weed and 2 tsp. of wine vinegar. Then, it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Hubby thought it was great and went back for seconds. I thought that the boiling the ground beef that long made the pieces too small. If I make this again I think I will remove some of the larger pieces and add them in at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent....first time I followed a recipe exactly and it turned out as expected! Love the combo of cheese and basil that caught my eye....and incredible easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Had this tonight for dinner and it was really great. Next time I am putting it in a bread bowl and not putting in the celery (just did not seem to fit) Side note to the directions that step three needs to be done in a separate skillet; you are making a rue and then adding the thickened mixture to the soup which thickens the soup.Without reading ahead this could really mess up your soup. Overall GREAT fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sflash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This is a wonderful soup for fall and winter! This time I made Chef John's No Knead Beer Bread to go with it, and since I was using beer anyway, I substituted beer for some of the chicken broth. WOW! Delicious either way! Thanks AUNTYLENE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States