Cheeseburger Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This soup was good. I will make it again but will definitely use less potatoes and more meat next time. Seemed more like cheese potato soup instead of cheese burger! But as another review said, it is a good base recipe! Oh, and it should have said to add milk slowly. It just says to add milk to butter and flour, should be smooth. Well, it wasn't smooth at all. It was lumpy flour in watery milk. So I dumped the milk in another bowl and re added the milk a little at a time while stirring to get it smooth. But the recipe should have explained that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Absolutely excellent. Wasn't sure about the basil (?) but it worked. Cooked carrots/celery in a separate pan in beef broth (didn't use chicken 'cause it's a beef dish), and potatoes in separate pan because of cooking times. Then added them to meat/onions and continued with roux and cheese. I had some really good sharp NY cheddar. Perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Amazing! Even better the next day! ( but I don't want to look at the nutrition facts!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Excellent as written. A family favorite. We have also tweaked it to lower the carb count a bit by adding a steamed then puréed cauliflower head in place of the flour and potatoes. Tastes just as good! Kids don't know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I made it today and it was wonderful!!!!However, I took the easy way out with this one. Its such a nice day out if fixed part this morning veggies, cut potatoes etc. then mid day I did a little more until I had it completed this evening for dinner. Nice Easy dinner!! That everyone LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Loved this recipe! Even my picky eating kids loved it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is very good! I thought it was going to be more like cheese dip but it certainly was not. I really want to try it with some elbow macaroni in place of the potato. I think that would be very good as well. Here are the changes I made. I doubled the ground beef, cut the carrots and celery down to 1/2 cup, added a little garlic, used Velveeta instead of cheddar, and salt and peppered to taste. At the end, I added a 4oz can of green chili's and a little cayenne. I gave this a 4 instead of 5 because when i tasted it, it was a little bland...so hence the green chili's and cayenne. It turned out fabulous! Oh yes I also cut the butter down by a tablespoon as I did not use one to cook/brown the vegetables and beef. I melted the remaining 3 tablespoons in a small sauce pan, made a roux with the flour added the milk slowly until mixed in and then slowly added the mixture to the soup to thicken it up. I never let it boil in the small saucepan just heated it enough to ensure no lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I made this exactly as directed in the recipe and it was a big hit at my house. It has wonderful flavour and it's a nice, thick soup that would be great for those cold winter days. I saw someone else in their review say that they add crumbled bacon to it, which would be an even nicer flavour so I may try that next time I make it. This one is definitely going into the "Best Recipes Yet" category at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Bucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is my kids new favourite soup! The only thing I changed is we use a gluten free flour mix due to celiac. Made it for a couple of potluck dinners and it is the first soup to go! I always double the recipe and there is no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 816) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheeseburger Soup I

This hearty soup is loaded with ground beef, veggies, and plenty of Cheddar.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States