Cheeseburger Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I really wanted to like this but the eggy layer just killed it for me. 3 stars because my hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This is a great starting point and a very forgiving recipe as far as playing with the ingredients. My family likes it, but I've made some changes. I decreased the amount of bread crumbs by half so it doesn't taste like meatloaf. I added bit of salt and increased the onion since my family isn't crazy about peppers. I put more tomato sauce in and added some chopped dill pickle. I also added garlic powder to give it some additional flavor. I also add some mustard to the filling, about 2 tablespoons. This makes it taste more like a hamburger. The topping is good, although I do add a bit more Worchestershire Sauce since I think it adds some tang to the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
One of hubby's favorites. I use refrigerated crust and pre-bake for about 5-8 minutes before adding meat mixture. Add more tomato sauce and omit sauce. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bergj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is delicious and I would definitely make it again! The only change I made was that I used puff pastry instead of a pie shell. Only one change I would make: as much as I love cheese, I would probably cut back & maybe use only 1 cup instead of 2. It does sort of taste like a meatloaf, but it's still very good & maybe kids who wouldn't normally eat meatloaf, might eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Great meal idea. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
my whole family loved it! and were picky eaters..i skipped the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adilah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I love this recipe- I have been making a variation for years. I also add dried mustard to the topping and sub ketchup for the tomato sauce. I also like to add a little oregano to the ground beef just for personal taste. Very filling easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
definitely meatloaf pie not cheeseburger pie. it was good, but i probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
VERY nice dinner alternative to cheeseburgers or meatloaf. The eggy layer with cheese really takes it to another level. I tried another Cheeseburger pie recipe here, and it was fine, but this was much yummier. I used pre-made puff pastry dough for the crust, and added a little extra pepper to spice things up a little. Rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Made this one last night. I took some of the tips off of other reviews. Added some garlic while cooking the meat mixture and added a can of drained Rotel when adding the tomato sauce to meat. Also served with sliced jalepenos! Good stuff and enough leftovers for lunch today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States