Cheeseburger Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I made changes to this and it was very good.I used less than 8oz. spaghetti and broke into 4 sections then boiled(much easier for eating.) I used 28oz. can Contadina crushed tomatoes in puree. Omitted onion soup. Used 1/2tsp garlic powder,1/4 tsp onion powder. Franks red hot sauce & one half of a pound loaf velveeta. Used rest ing. as listd. If you use Velveeta becareful W/ adding additional salt. I put sauce ing. in bowl so I could adjust flavors,then added to meat untill cheese melted. Pored into 3 qt. oblong dish and slowly added pasta. Bake as directed. It came out creamy and not dry at all. Delish! Thanks Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I scaled recipe to 12 since I was having a crowd of teenagers to dinner. Added the chopped onion to beef, about 6 drops of hot sauce, a tbsp. minced garlic, some garlic salt and mindful of the comments about the onion soup mix, I only added 1 package to 3 lbs of ground beef. Also added bread crumbs to the cheese topping. Everyone loved it and ate and ate until there was no more. I will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
My family really liked this recipe but I did not. Per previous suggestions, used shell noodles and added a little extra basil. It was still very bland and dry tasting to me. I even used a little extra cheese it hopes to make it creamier...it did not work. My boyfriend said he would love to see me make this one again although I doubt I will. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This is "hamburger helper" type food, but it was quick, easy, and turned out well. I left out the onion soup-mix entirely, subbed elbow mac for the spaghetti, used a couple of real garlic cloves instead of the garlic salt, and spiced it up with "mexican" flavored diced tomatoes and some chili powder. I also diced up some green bell pepper and added it to the frying meat. This is a good basic recipe that's easy to modify to suit your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I am sorry...I followed this recipe to the letter..except, I did not have basil. Anyway, this was not good at all!! The onion soup mix WAS overpowering. My son did not like it at all ethier. There are not any suggestions that I could give this recipe...but to pass this one up and keep looking!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I liked this recipe because it was quick and easy. I substituted in mozzerella cheese for a more Italian taste. I also layered the ingredients instead of mixing them together (for presentation) Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I thought this recipe turned out good. This is a recipe where you can make a few changes to suite your preferences and it wouldn't matter that much, so thats what I did. When browning the meat, i added peppers to it. Depending on your taste you could either use hot, green, or whatever kind of pepper you like. INstead of using garlic powder, I diced up a few garlic cloves and put that in with the meat and peppers. We think fresh garlic gives it food a better flavor. I used rotini noodles and they worked really well. I read how the other users said it was a little dry so instead of using a small can of tomatoes i used a 28 oz can. I used about three fourths of it and saved the rest to top it when we ate it. Next time i make it I would definitely use the whole big can. This is also a good recipe to make if say you don't have time to cook like me on that particular day. I made it that morning, everything but tossing it in the oven and when people were ready to eat while i was at work all they had to do was toss it in the oven and put cheese on it, presto they have a hot meal in half an hour. Its not the best meal ever, but it is a really good quick family meal. We used leftover sour cream, tomatoes, and cheese to top it before we ate it. The last change I made was hot sauce, i wanted to add hot sauce to it before it was baked but i forgot to, so we just added it to our portions as we ate it. If you like spicy things, it added a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austintown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, except used ground turkey for the beef. This is just an average casserole. We did like the flavor of the onion soup pared with sour cream. DH and I both felt like it came up short. Something big was definitely missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This casserole has an interesting flavor. I really enjoyed it. I did use mozzarella cheese because it's what I had available. I used farfalle pasta, a better look, in my opinion. Though this recipe turned out a tad dry, I'm still giving it the highest rating. The flavor was awesome. Maybe using more sour cream would keep it from turning out on the dry side. I will probably try reduced fat sour cream next time. The full calorie stuff may not add anything extra, but calories. We'll see. Good Lord willing, I will prepare this dish again and again. Thanks, Rhonda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Going by the other reviews, I chose to completely omit the onion soup mix, and instead added a small chopped white onion in with the meat.. I used turkey as that's all that was defrosted so I added a lil black pepper to it. I didn't salt it as the tomatoes and onion would provide enough of that, but contrary to some other repoerts, I didn't find this to be dry at all. It was bland colorwise, pretty 'white', but a healthy sprinkling of parsley fixed that without changing the taste. I thought it came out great and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States