Cheeseburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These are very tasty indeed! Some observations/changes: rather than the tomato sauce, I added 1 tbsp Worcestershire suace, 1/4 cu ketchup, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, and 1/4 tsp cumin to the ground beef. We don't have a convection oven, and the buns turned out better on the top rack. When baked on the bottom rack, the bottom of the buns burned faster than the tops browned. Finally, these were tasty with ham/cheddar, turkey/provolone, and bacon/egg/cheddar as well... those of you from the South: think kolaches. Update: I made bacon, egg and cheese buns last night -- excellent. To make a more biscuit-like dough, substitute 3/4cu. self-rising flour for the same amount of the original all-purpose flour -- works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
These were really good! I did season up the hamburger mixture a bit. These could probably be filled with anything and be great. They reheated well in a 350 oven for 20 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I followed the bun part of this recipe exactly and the dough was too wet to handle. So I had to add a quite abit of flour to it to make it workable. I used hand and cheese for fillings and I added some warm milk mixed with cornstarch,garlic powder,oregano and parsley flakes to the filling in each bun... just a tiny amount. It took care of the overly runny/oily cheesie filling problem. Everyone gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Camden, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
The dough was fine, but when it baked, it was really crumbly ... actually, it was kinda like a biscuit ... it was okay, but just okay ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Followed the bread recipe exactly, but I didn't make the meat mixture. Instead, stuffed with ham and cheese. They were very good but browned very quickly. For that reason, I would reduced temp. a bit next time. Otherwise, pretty terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This is a great dish for kids. Adults will probably find it edible, but not their first choice. You want to make your kids happy for a meal, make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
MMMM MMMM Good! Definately will make again. You can put anything in the middle: roast beef and mozerella cheese, chicken and bacon with ranch, etc. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaAndJason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe. I used butter instead of the shortening and did have to add more flour than called for. Dough was super easy to work with and tasted great. I changed up the meat. I used ground turkey and seasoned with worchestire, a little wing sauce, s/p, onion pdr, italian seasoning and chili pdr. They turned out fabulous. Excited to try different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I only made the Bread part. I have been looking for a yummy bun and this was it. I am a little upset I cut the recipe in half and I wish I didn't. They are so good I need to make more for dinner now. Thank you :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie :0)
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very yummy bread dough. I used my bread machine and had to add about 1/4 cup extra flour. It was still a very sticky dough but it rolled out just fine. The reason for 4 stars is I thought the filling would be a little bland so I made the Neat Sloppy Joe recipe from this site and used that to fill the rounds. Baked for 13 minutes, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States