Cheese-Stuffed Giant Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Loved it. I used pepper jack cheese which added a lot to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I did not have the specific Progresso cooking sauce BUT I did have a different brand's fire roasted spaghetti sauce. I used that instead. I did throw in a little more italian seasoning and onion/garlic powder into the meat loaf mixture for a little more oomph. The family liked it okay but we all thought this could use more cheese in the middle. This was easy and fed the family very well on a fixed food budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Awesome! I've made these a couple of times. I usually use cracker crumbs in place of the bread crumbs. I also don't use the red sauce for topping. I mix about 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tbsp mustard and 1 tbsp brown sugar and brush it on top of the loaves before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I did it exactly how the recipe read and ... it was just ok. Definately needs more seasoning. Definately needs less sauce added to the meat mixture before cooking...it was mushy. I wasn't crazy about the sauce so maybe some other tomato sauce would be better. I did like the cheese idea though. Would maybe make again but next time would do things differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelGirl
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm torn on this recipe. My family really liked but I wasn't a fan. They are definitely moist. I added some garlic, onion powder and Italian seasoning to the meat mixture. And instead of string cheese I diced up some mozzarella cheese and used that. I preferred them without the additional sauce on top. Even with the additional seasoning they weren't quite right. I just didn't really like the flavor of the sauce which really came through. But my guys really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was pretty good. I made a couple of substitutions: I used regular bread crumbs, and ground chicken (I don't eat much beef) so I know that changed the end result. I did not have a muffin pan, so formed the loaves into servings and baked on a cookie sheet lined with foil. It was easy to make (I love meat loaf), so I'll make it again, using the panko crumbs and perhaps ground turkey. A nice weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
OK, but nothing I would rave about or most likely make again. After mixing all of the ingredients for the meat loaves, it still was way too wet, so I added more panko crumbs. If I were to make this again, I'd probably use 1/2 cup each cooking sauce and bread crumbs. While the meat loaves were baking, I cooked down the reserved tomato cooking sauce. This is the 5th Progresso recipe starter sauce that I've used, and I'm finding that each one is way too thin. I used a large muffin scoop, inserted a piece of cheese in the center and rolled like a meat ball making 8 meat loves. Had leftovers, and I'm thinking they'll make good sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
These were a solid 4-5 with slight modifications. Mr. LTH really enjoyed these. I thought they were good, but prefer the meatloaf muffin I typically make to these. I added dried minced onion in place of the green onion, a few shakes of Italian seasoning, and used a mixture of fresh mozzarella with a little shredded cheddar for my cheese. The mixture was VERY wet (and then very moist). I halved the recipe for 4 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Okay, I must have missed a step...mine fell apart! I know the recipe has to be good. I mean hamburger and cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States