Cheese-Stuffed Giant Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Loved it. I used pepper jack cheese which added a lot to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I did not have the specific Progresso cooking sauce BUT I did have a different brand's fire roasted spaghetti sauce. I used that instead. I did throw in a little more italian seasoning and onion/garlic powder into the meat loaf mixture for a little more oomph. The family liked it okay but we all thought this could use more cheese in the middle. This was easy and fed the family very well on a fixed food budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Awesome! I've made these a couple of times. I usually use cracker crumbs in place of the bread crumbs. I also don't use the red sauce for topping. I mix about 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tbsp mustard and 1 tbsp brown sugar and brush it on top of the loaves before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I did it exactly how the recipe read and ... it was just ok. Definately needs more seasoning. Definately needs less sauce added to the meat mixture before cooking...it was mushy. I wasn't crazy about the sauce so maybe some other tomato sauce would be better. I did like the cheese idea though. Would maybe make again but next time would do things differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TravelGirl
Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm torn on this recipe. My family really liked but I wasn't a fan. They are definitely moist. I added some garlic, onion powder and Italian seasoning to the meat mixture. And instead of string cheese I diced up some mozzarella cheese and used that. I preferred them without the additional sauce on top. Even with the additional seasoning they weren't quite right. I just didn't really like the flavor of the sauce which really came through. But my guys really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Flying Wizard
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was pretty good. I made a couple of substitutions: I used regular bread crumbs, and ground chicken (I don't eat much beef) so I know that changed the end result. I did not have a muffin pan, so formed the loaves into servings and baked on a cookie sheet lined with foil. It was easy to make (I love meat loaf), so I'll make it again, using the panko crumbs and perhaps ground turkey. A nice weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
OK, but nothing I would rave about or most likely make again. After mixing all of the ingredients for the meat loaves, it still was way too wet, so I added more panko crumbs. If I were to make this again, I'd probably use 1/2 cup each cooking sauce and bread crumbs. While the meat loaves were baking, I cooked down the reserved tomato cooking sauce. This is the 5th Progresso recipe starter sauce that I've used, and I'm finding that each one is way too thin. I used a large muffin scoop, inserted a piece of cheese in the center and rolled like a meat ball making 8 meat loves. Had leftovers, and I'm thinking they'll make good sliders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
These were a solid 4-5 with slight modifications. Mr. LTH really enjoyed these. I thought they were good, but prefer the meatloaf muffin I typically make to these. I added dried minced onion in place of the green onion, a few shakes of Italian seasoning, and used a mixture of fresh mozzarella with a little shredded cheddar for my cheese. The mixture was VERY wet (and then very moist). I halved the recipe for 4 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Okay, I must have missed a step...mine fell apart! I know the recipe has to be good. I mean hamburger and cheese! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States