Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Great recipe. Mine turned out not very crunchy and with a slight biscuit texture...simply wonderful. Great to serve with chilli or a hearty chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was a wonderful recipe as is. The grandkids loved it, so did the mail man. Poor guy he often gets roped into testing things at our house. Bless him he keeps coming back with a smile. It was a bit bland then I saw I had left out the cayenne. So I tweaked the second batch. I added 3 tbs. olive oil 1/2 tsp. paprika, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, and 1/4 tsp. garlic powder. I cut back on the water to about 3 tbs. till dough was just right for the cookie press. I don't like to roll out anything I'm not sure I could find my rolling pin. Also useing extra sharp cheddar helps make the cheese taste come through. Also do let your butter and cheese warm to room temp. or better yet set on stove as you pre heat it make it so much easier to blend. I also up the cooking time to 8 min making a nice crunch in the straws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I thought these were really bland. After they were cooked I grated even more cheese sprinkled it on top and gave them a quick broil to melt the cheese. That was better but still not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I only gave 4 out of 5 because the recipe said cook 5 minutes, and my batch was very chewy instead of crispy. I read a review that said cook for 12 minutes, so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Really yummy stuff! I made these with half-cheddar cheese and half-regular grated cheese. This was originally something I tried out to get rid of my extra cheese but I never expected it to be this good. Absolutely brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I tried these, they are tasty...but not what I expected. I was looking for something with a little bit of crunch and these were like a biscuit. Probably good with chilli or soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These cheese straws were absolutely wonderful. My whole family loved them and can not wait until i make them again. I did not use the Cheyenne pepper. I also made them a little bit thicker than a pencil width and they cooked at about 6 min or so. They were much easier to handle when they were thicker (do not go much bigger or they wont cook right) Over all absolutely wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Initially, these weren't really what I was looking for but that's my own fault for not thinking about the ingredients more carefully. I was looking for a crispy more butter cookie like texture and these are soft and more like small bread sticks. I realize now that's from the baking powder. I used garlic salt instead of regular and an additional cup of freshly grated sharp cheddar (didn't seem like enough cheese to flour for me initially). I rolled out and cut them to about pencil sized per the instructions and they took closer to 10 minutes to bake. The result was a soft, very cheesy small breadstick with just a hint of heat. They were quite good, just not what I had in mind. As I was going for a crispier result, I let them cool, turned them on their side, and put them back into a 300 degree oven for about 25 minutes (like you would with biscotti). It worked - light, flaky, crispy and cheesy little cracker like sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is a good base for adding more flavors. I made this recipe exactly but added more ingredients when I tasted the bland, almost tasteless outcome. When I added about 1/8 teaspoon more cayenne pepper, 3/4 teaspoon garlic salt, 1/2 teaspoon onion powder, and about 1/2 cup more cheese, the recipe was much better. With the added ingredients, they also needed more baking time though. They almost taste like meatless meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I just finished making these! Great receipe. I was out of cayenne pepper so I substituted season salt and I put in a little garlic powder. Great combo. It is a little time consuming to roll out the pieces, but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States