Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Sorry, but these turned out terribly! They were dense and pretty tasteless- not the airy, crisp cheese straws I expected. I used real butter and cheese and let them come to room temp so they were soft, but the dough was crumbly. I finally added a sprinkling of water to get the dough to form but they never tasted right. I don't think I did anything wrong, but perhaps I did because this recipe just didn't work out for me and others seemed to enjoy it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I liked the taste of these very much, but I too had trouble getting it to glom together, but with the addition of an egg and some water it worked OK. I agree about leaving the butter out for a long time, but it is hard to cream butter without something gritty to work against. Maybe it would be easier with a food processor, but by hand it was pretty hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I hate to give a bad review, but there is something missing from this recipe. There is not enough 'liquid' to make the dough stick. I would recommend sitting the cheese and butter out at room temperature for at least an hour. I didn't, and the dough with much too crumbly. It did not come together at all. I had to add a lot of water to get any sort of resemblance of dough. Once I did that, they turned out ok. Sorry, but I think that there are better cheese straw recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is the perfect cheese straw recipe! To make the dough easier to work with let the cheese and butter sit out at room temp for a few hours, they cream together beautifully at room temp and makes the dough super easy to work with. I get requests to make these all the time! AWESOME! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This recipe was so easy! I used the same dough to make cheese puffs. I just rolled 1/2 balls and baked for the same amount of time...very easy to do for a big crowd! (also I tried it once with a mixture of parmesean and cheddar and it was a wonderful taste!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe is the best. My husband took a tentative first bite and then gobbled them up. He's on a low carb diet and these work great. I used differently sized leaf shape cookie cutters to cut the dough and they provided a nice fall theme at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
These are very tasty, but I wouldn't say "fairly simple". The dough is difficult to work with, therefore this took MUCH longer to assemble than I expected. Also you have to watch the time....15 minutes would have SCORCHED mine, and I ended up baking (all but the first batch) for around 9 minutes. I too left out the pepper and it tatsted great! I will make again, but only 'cuz my kids love, not 'cus it's easy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Used food processor & it worked wonderfully. Added dashes of Worchester Sause to help blend, but no milk or water, and left out the hot pepper. Also, rolled in large tubes first and hardened in refr., then cut into 1/4" slices and used a heart shape cookie cutter. Daughter married on Valentine's Day and these added to our heart cut cheese tray were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very good as a party appetizer with cocktails or everyday snack. My kids love having "homemade Goldfish. for thier snack" Very important that the cheese is at room temperature for it to cream easily. I tried using a piping bag and star tip, but dough was too thick and wouldn't come out. Will try using a cookie press next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Just what I was looking for! I wanted a snack for a party that was cheesy & wouldn't have to stay warm to be served. These are great little 'finger-foods.' I used Vermont extra sharp cheddar & didn't add the pepper. I also used a few dashes of milk to aid in binding. I was afraid I was overworking the dough, but it didn't effect the end result. Tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roebling, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States