Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
Love them! I was so glad to find this recipe. My mom made these when I was younger and we gobbled them up. I didn't mind the cayenne pepper but I may have to omit it for my son. I will be making these for a camping potluck this weekend because they store well and are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
The recipe was excellent, although it was more time-consuming than I had thought to roll out the straws. After rolling them out, I refrigerated the straws for 5-10 min. (and then added 3-4 min. to baking time), which helped them puff a bit less and made them very flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
These were a little time consuming; however, they were worth the time! They have a lot of flavor that kicks in the more you eat! I had a party and the guests thought I bought these! I also froze some letfover dough. The only mistake I made with the frozen dough was I baked it too long. Next time I would probably cut the cooking time in half for the frozen batch! Overall, these were AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
Dough was a little difficult to roll into logs, so I rolled the dough out and then cut them into 3 inch logs. My 4 year old helped and loved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2000
These were gone in no time! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
These were so easy to make and absolutely delicious! They don't require a ton of ingredients, so I can make them on the spur of the moment. Really, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2001
I made these for my mother in law and her boyfriend for appetizers, and they thought i bought them....in their own words "these have a delicious bite to them...they taste gourmet!" The only changes I made was to add 1 tsp of ground mustard powder, and 1/4 tsp of sage! These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I found these great flaky straws were great twisted. I did have to change the baking time to 15 mintues. Cayenne gave them a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My class loved these cheese straws. Great for a snack when your low on Cheese Nips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
my Mom and I use to get Cheese Straws like this at a resturant in Mississippi and haven't been able to find anything like them since we moved. This is it! Thank you for sharing this family tradition that we can keep going at Christmas time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States