Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
These were really good, however, I did add about 1/3 cup water to the recipe to get it to stick together. It was then about like pie dough. Also, I cut the heat back to 375 because the first batch was too brown after 11 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
If you want something different to serve as snacks, if your kids like cheese goldfishes - you will want to make this! I made this with no cayenne pepper and with sharp cheddar cheese and it was positively scrumptious! Make sure the butter is at room temperature, cream it first, then add the cheese, and then add the flour a little at a time. I rolled that into a ball with my hands a little at a time and cooked for exactly 12 minutes - wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
These were just what I was looking for. I added about 1 tablespoon of milk and about 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
These are great. I used sharp chedder. It's great to make these all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
These were awesome and easy!!! I added about 4 tbsp cold water to form dough..I made them to take to a Cookie Exchange for nibbles..they were gone in no time, and I was asked for the recipe by several peeps!!! I am making them again for New year's Eve!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Just what I was looking for! I wanted a snack for a party that was cheesy & wouldn't have to stay warm to be served. These are great little 'finger-foods.' I used Vermont extra sharp cheddar & didn't add the pepper. I also used a few dashes of milk to aid in binding. I was afraid I was overworking the dough, but it didn't effect the end result. Tasty! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roebling, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe is the best. My husband took a tentative first bite and then gobbled them up. He's on a low carb diet and these work great. I used differently sized leaf shape cookie cutters to cut the dough and they provided a nice fall theme at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This recipe was so easy! I used the same dough to make cheese puffs. I just rolled 1/2 balls and baked for the same amount of time...very easy to do for a big crowd! (also I tried it once with a mixture of parmesean and cheddar and it was a wonderful taste!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is the perfect cheese straw recipe! To make the dough easier to work with let the cheese and butter sit out at room temp for a few hours, they cream together beautifully at room temp and makes the dough super easy to work with. I get requests to make these all the time! AWESOME! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
i had to double the butter and mix it together with my hands but they were lovely. next time i might use a stronger cheese than i did - used mild cheddar because of the cost - for a stronger flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States