Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I agree with some other reviewers, these were very floury tasting. They were kind of ok straight from the oven, but not good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were excellent. I took another reviewers suggestion and added Italian seasoning for a little more taste and color. I liked the soft texture but might try cooking a little longer next time for a crunchy batch. These are perfect for a bridal or baby shower. Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Eh. These weren't really that great. The taste was okay, but they needed longer in the oven before they were browned. We thought they were rather dry. They might be nice dipped in something, but I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I was disappointed in this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T! I'm giving two stars because the recipe is fine, we just didn't care for the end result. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilmspunky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dugway, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
While my wife made these, I made a pot of Taco Soup. These go together perfectly. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Dry (which I'm gathering is desirable in a cheese straw), but there has to be a better way than to roll ALL that dough by hand. I will have to try other reviewer's suggestions next time. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camanche, Iowa, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
These were great and fast and easy! I ended up using a little more water to get the dough to the consistency I wanted. I did roll them a little thicker and turned them halfway through cooking time(cooking time took a little longer since I rolled them thicker). ALL my kids loved them(and that's saying something!) I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by s0ap
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made them for my family and my little brother's friend that was over at our house. They all loved them. I personally would have liked a little more cheese, but they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s0ap

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
More trouble than they were worth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce van den Berg
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These turned out great. To add more flavor I added: 2 tbsp. of finely chopped chives, 2 tablespoons Italian Seasonings, 1 cup of Parmesan cheese and 1 tsp. cayenne. I increased baking time to 12 minutes for a more crisp cracker. I may try to increase it to 15 minutes to make them extra crispy. I also used an electric spritz cookie cutter for a more professional look. I also used a small heart cookie cutter to make perfectly shaped savory cheese crackers and stacked them up in cellophane wrappers for great Holiday gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States