Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Very good. A little difficult to hold together before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Although my dough (as recipe says) was fine originally, I added two eggs to fluff it up a bit, so I had to add some extra flour. I also added about a tablespoon of garlic powder, used a little less salt, but sprinkled coarse salt on top. I also put the red pepper on top, it gave it a nice kick. Very light and fluffy with wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Good recipe. I had to let the dough come to room temperature, as I didn't think to let the cheese come to room temperature before creaming it with the butter. Once it had warmed, it was easy to form into balls. I'll let the butter and cheese come to room temperature and decrease the salt next time, but I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I made the recipe with the ingredients called for, but it wasn't doughy. I added 1/c warm water, about 1 Tbs oil, and some garlic salt for flavor. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This dish is so yuumy. We served it at your holiday party and many of our guests asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
i had to double the butter and mix it together with my hands but they were lovely. next time i might use a stronger cheese than i did - used mild cheddar because of the cost - for a stronger flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Needed liquid. Original recipe was way to dry to form a dough. After reading other reviews, I added two eggs and a 1/2 cup of warm water. I also added garlic salt and onion powder. Tasted great. Really good with melted garlic butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good! I added an egg white to act as a binder for everything. I also added about 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Sorry, but these turned out terribly! They were dense and pretty tasteless- not the airy, crisp cheese straws I expected. I used real butter and cheese and let them come to room temp so they were soft, but the dough was crumbly. I finally added a sprinkling of water to get the dough to form but they never tasted right. I don't think I did anything wrong, but perhaps I did because this recipe just didn't work out for me and others seemed to enjoy it. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I liked the taste of these very much, but I too had trouble getting it to glom together, but with the addition of an egg and some water it worked OK. I agree about leaving the butter out for a long time, but it is hard to cream butter without something gritty to work against. Maybe it would be easier with a food processor, but by hand it was pretty hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States