Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I had never heard of cheese straws until about a week ago. I wasn't sure how such a thing would work out, but I'm not the kind to say "no" to anything that has butter and cheese as its main ingredients! I followed the recipe, but added a little garlic powder and had to add a couple tablespoons of water to make the dough stick. Once the first straws came out of the oven, I popped one in my mouth. The first bite was ok. The second bite was good and the third quite good. The second straw, which had cooled to room temperature, was amazing. I ate six of them in less than five minutes. I am still eating them as I'm typing. These are amazing little gems and this yankee is happy to know yet another Southern secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I had to use 1 cup of butter, softened as the mixture was too crumbly with just half. I used a pizza cutter for cutting the strips and it worked really well. I think they were delicious and I will definitely make them again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These are delicious! Though I made the following changes: 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (instead of 1/4 tsp), added a couple shakes of garlic powder and a little over 1/4 cup water. I didn't have a rolling pin or anything to roll it out, so I just made ping-pong sized balls, then flattened them with the bottom of a cup into 1/2 inch thick disks. Baked 15 minutes. They are more like little cheese biscuits than crackers or anything. They may have been more cracker-like if I made them thinner or baked them longer, but I like them the way they are. Next time I might try white cheddar or mozzarella with italian herbs...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
SO yummy, and so easy! And way better for you than the store bought processed crackers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Really great and easy. My kids liked the dough just as well as the crackers. I let the cheese and butter sit to room temp, but the flour still made the dough too stiff to roll out. I used 1/3 cup of water and it made a more piecrust-type dough. I piped it out of a half-inch round decorator tip with a frosting bag and got great straws. Next time I'll add a total of 2/3 cup water and I think I'll be able to get the 1/4 inch straws I was after. They baked up much more crispy which = better flavor. They remind me of Cheese Nips, which I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These straws taste great, I topped with Paprika. The only thing I did not like was how crumbly the dough was. In the past I had a wonderful cheese straw recipe and hoping this was it, used to be able to twist the straws. With this dough everytime I tried to twist they just broke. Nice taste, but not quite what I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
The cheese straws were wonderful. However, I had trouble with the dough sticking together, and I added another 1/4 cup of butter. This was exactly what it seemed to need. I also added a bit more red pepper. Everyone loved them, and my batch of cheese straws did not last very long. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
For those at there that could not get the dough to roll in a ball, add a little milk or water and it will come together perfectly. never add more butter or eggs. On the flip side if the dough seems to soft just add more flour. I add freeze dried chives to the dough for a delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Really good! I love these so much more than sweet cookies around the holidays. I added poppy seed to the top of half of them and they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I've used this recipe many times and people love it. I've never found it to be difficult; I think it's one of the easiest to roll and cut with cookie cutters. I use a 16 oz block of sharp or extra sharp cheddar and grate it myself. This softens the cheese a bit and allows it to cream just fine. The dough will be a bit crumbly, but just knead it together a bit and it's fine. I definitely don't bake them for the full 15 minutes; 12 and less is generally good enough. Mine tend to form a large air bubble, so I poke holes in them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States