Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
Got this recipe from MIL 30 years ago and make it often throughout the year. Her recipe doesn't include salt and I use very good New York Extra Sharp cheddar which I shred myself instead of using preshred. I also use my cuisinart to mix it all into a ball. Then I use an old fashioned cookie press with the ridged line disc and make a cracker type cheese straw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TJune
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I followed the suggestion of using 3 cups of cheese and lowering the temp to 375 for 10 min, and they are perfect. Agree that the cheese and butter needs to be room temp. Then, get your hands dirty. Wash them well first! Then knead the dough with your hands until well mixed, scoop out balls about 1 cup sized, and press onto a cutting board. I flattened them with my fist and used a large butcher knife to cut them into strips - not very long strips. See photo of straws in a basket. I also baked them on parchment paper. For those disappointed with the flavor: real cheese straws are subtle. Don't expect Cheese Nips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is the closest recipe I have found to the one my mother used to make. It has the denseness that we love. I think it is because there is no baking powder? Always use very sharp cheddar. I used half yellow and extra sharp Vermont white cheddar...so they still had a creamy yellow color. I did need to add a little bit of il during the creaming process. I divided the dough into three balls for rolling out. I also baked them on parchments paper and the perfect timing was 12 minutes. Make sure you don't roll out too thin. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These came out perfectly. I used a frosting gun with a small star tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
We used half extra sharp cheddar and half veggie cheddar to make these lactose free. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Exactly what I wanted. I followed the instructions, but left out the pepper and added dry mustard and three table spoons of whostershire instead. Great little snacks for my kids lunches to add some protein. I did make them in little balls, then had the kids flatten them out to make a cookie shape. This lowered the cooking time to 9 minutes. I used Cabot extra sharp cheese and grated it myself, so it wouldn't have the extra ingredients sometimes in grated cheese that can cause the batter not to come together. Would be equally as nice for a cocktail party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been making cheese straws for 40 some years. This is absolutely the best ones I have ever made. They were delicious crispy perfectly done. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It was ok. not a wow got to have it recipe.. everyone compared it to the garlic cheese biscuts at red lobster. I used my jerky gun with the 1/4" filler tube to form real straws. Baked a full 12 min. for the perfect texture. Made a few changes... and two batches later found a recipe that works wonders, a must have at all parties. Thank you for a great base to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
When making this recipe, I followed the instructions that were given. I did not have a problem creaming the butter and the cheese and did not have to add any additional items. It helps if these two ingredients are at room temperature. For me, it went through stages as I beat it. First it got really crumbly, but the longer I beat it, it became more like dough. I do have a stand mixer, and I don't know if that helped the with the mixing. Although the taste was very good as is, I did sprinkle some garlic salt on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Instead of red pepper flakes, I used a few drops of Tabasco (hot) sauce. I mixed everything well in my Kitchen Aid mixer so the dough was easy to handle and the straws were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnareg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States