Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is the closest recipe I have found to the one my mother used to make. It has the denseness that we love. I think it is because there is no baking powder? Always use very sharp cheddar. I used half yellow and extra sharp Vermont white cheddar...so they still had a creamy yellow color. I did need to add a little bit of il during the creaming process. I divided the dough into three balls for rolling out. I also baked them on parchments paper and the perfect timing was 12 minutes. Make sure you don't roll out too thin. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These came out perfectly. I used a frosting gun with a small star tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
We used half extra sharp cheddar and half veggie cheddar to make these lactose free. My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Exactly what I wanted. I followed the instructions, but left out the pepper and added dry mustard and three table spoons of whostershire instead. Great little snacks for my kids lunches to add some protein. I did make them in little balls, then had the kids flatten them out to make a cookie shape. This lowered the cooking time to 9 minutes. I used Cabot extra sharp cheese and grated it myself, so it wouldn't have the extra ingredients sometimes in grated cheese that can cause the batter not to come together. Would be equally as nice for a cocktail party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have been making cheese straws for 40 some years. This is absolutely the best ones I have ever made. They were delicious crispy perfectly done. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
It was ok. not a wow got to have it recipe.. everyone compared it to the garlic cheese biscuts at red lobster. I used my jerky gun with the 1/4" filler tube to form real straws. Baked a full 12 min. for the perfect texture. Made a few changes... and two batches later found a recipe that works wonders, a must have at all parties. Thank you for a great base to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
When making this recipe, I followed the instructions that were given. I did not have a problem creaming the butter and the cheese and did not have to add any additional items. It helps if these two ingredients are at room temperature. For me, it went through stages as I beat it. First it got really crumbly, but the longer I beat it, it became more like dough. I do have a stand mixer, and I don't know if that helped the with the mixing. Although the taste was very good as is, I did sprinkle some garlic salt on the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Instead of red pepper flakes, I used a few drops of Tabasco (hot) sauce. I mixed everything well in my Kitchen Aid mixer so the dough was easy to handle and the straws were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnareg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used three cups of cheese instead of four, dropped my temp to 375 and baked for 10 minutes and they turned out perfect. Reducing the amount of cheese allowed the taste (not heat) of the red pepper to come out a little more. If you reduce the cheese you need to also reduce the temp and cook time or they will overcook. TIP - use Cracker Barrel extra sharp and don't buy pre-shredded cheese. shred the cheese cold and allow the butter and cheese to come to room temp before you cream them. I used an electric mixer to cream the cheese and butter, but I mixed the dry ingredients in by hand. DON'T USE WATER. Mold the dough by hand for about 10 min and it will be ready to roll out (something my grandmother taught me). Don't try to roll out the entire dough mixture at once. Break it into smaller fist-size dough balls and do several batches. This will allow you to figure out how thin/thick you want your cheese straws to be. It also gives you a chance to adjust your cooking temp and time since everyone's ovens are a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I had never heard of cheese straws until about a week ago. I wasn't sure how such a thing would work out, but I'm not the kind to say "no" to anything that has butter and cheese as its main ingredients! I followed the recipe, but added a little garlic powder and had to add a couple tablespoons of water to make the dough stick. Once the first straws came out of the oven, I popped one in my mouth. The first bite was ok. The second bite was good and the third quite good. The second straw, which had cooled to room temperature, was amazing. I ate six of them in less than five minutes. I am still eating them as I'm typing. These are amazing little gems and this yankee is happy to know yet another Southern secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States