Cheese Soup with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This soup is awesome - just as good as Panera Bread's - and although the velveeta is easy, I've also used a plain old block of Kraft Sharp cheddar = and it works just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roach, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
WOW! My family and friends loved this. Though I used the basic recipe, I have to admit to a few changes. I skipped the carrots and celery, and just added more broccoli, added a bit of garlic powder, and used 8 ounces of shredded chedder cheese instead of the processed cheese. My husband said it was better than any he had ever had anywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I've never had the urge to publicly rate/review a recipe before (& I visit this site regularly!) until now. I made this soup with my 3 1/2 yr old and we absolutely loved it! It has the perfect amount of cheese without tasting "cheesy" and just right consistency. I used a large bag of frozen broccoli & cooked it with the celery & carrots (which I just chopped) according to the package directions and it turned out great! I can't wait for leftovers at lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I added extra broccoli and omitted the carrot and celery.For color and added flavor I used chopped tiny sweet peppers( red, yellow and orange) and white pepper. We love this,will make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharonville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Very good soup. My adjustments: double the broccoli and carrots; minced garlic added to onion-butter mix. I used mostly low-sodium broth (about 2 cups) and will use only low sodium broth next time. The process cheese was plenty salty for my taste and I wish I had not seasoned it with salt. Overall it was quite good and my husband ate about 4 bowls of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This soup was wonderful. I had been looking for a decent broccoli/cheese soup for a long time and this one was a winner. I decided to add some rice at the end and it was much better without it. I don't think this recipe needs any modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
It may be my fault the soup did not turn out as great as expected. I swapped Velveeta with real cheddar and it did not have a great consistency. Needed some seasoning too. Still on the search for a cheesy broccoli soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is delicious. I used a couple of different cheddar cheeses and it was really rich and creamy. A big hit at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belmont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This Soup is better then restuarant Broccoli soup, I also used about 8oz shredded cheddar cheese, this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I have been searching for a recipe that is similar to McAlisters deli soup and this is it. I only did half the recipe because Im the only one that eats it, and it was perfect. The only thing i changed was the cheese. I didnt have velveta so I just used cheddar cheese soup and it worked great. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States