Cheese Soup with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I don't rate often, but this soup deserves it! I used more broccoli - about 3-4 cups and simmered it with a carrot until very tender about 15 mins. I used deli American cheese because it melts more smoothly than cheddar and I think is better for you than Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Delicious and easy, turns out great every time. Great for camping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this with homemade roasted vegetable stock in place of chicken broth and it tasted AMAZING. I had one issue, and that was that the texture was almost... frothy? I made it again, letting the milk mixture heat longer, but had the same result... What am I doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Wonderful. Thanks! It had a great taste...I love that it is completely from scratch. I used real sharp cheddar instead of Velveeta, added garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and extra salt to suite our tastes. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good soup - hubby likes better than that from his favorite "foot long" sandwich shop. I double the broccoli but otherwise make the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNH13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe!!! I did not have enough of the exact ingredients, but it turned out wonderfully. Was short on Velveeta so also added cheddar cheese (about a 70/30 blend). Made chicken bouillon, so did not need to add salt. Added pre-cooked bacon I had on hand, which gave it a slightly smoky flavor, and bow tie pasta. Decided to lightly stir-fry the broccoli in olive oil & added last. It was a bit of work, but not horrible, and the soup was totally worth it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good though I did make a couple changes as others mentioned. I used grated cheddar (1 cup+) and 2 cups broccoli only because I like it chunkier and had some to use up. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yummy! I followed the directions, except for tripling the amount of broccoli, upping the amount of flour to 1/2 cup, using real cheddar and substituting half-and-half for milk. It turned out great. I liked the added veggies. I was looking for a soup that rivaled Panera's, and this was pretty close. I think mine was more "cheddar-y" than Panera's, so next time I may use a combination of cheddar and a white cheese. This definitely is a keeper, a great Sunday night supper for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very delicious. I deducted a star only because there is the amount of broccoli called for was way too low. i doubled it, and would even make it 3 cups the next time around. Otherwise, restaurant worthy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
absolutely delish - does not even need the cheese !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States