Cheese Soup with Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This recipe is an amazing base recipe. I used it just a couple minutes ago and made Veggie 'N' Cheese soup. If you've made sausage gravy or flour gravy in the past, this is pretty similar to that. (: You start out using the flour, butter, and milk like you would with gravy and you just make the broth seperate. & don't fret if you don't have onions. I used minced onion seasoning and just didn't let it sit for awhile. If you would end up doing that, you 'd end up with a black, burnt tasting substance that no one wants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IfYouFindThis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I took out the carrots and celery and added diced potatoes. Everyone in the house ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this with grated Emmentaler, since I can't get Velveeta or the like in Austria, and it turned out great! Quick and easy, and very tasty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I read some of the reviews and used the suggestions. I really liked this, and it was relatively easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Excellent. Made it for office party and it was a hit. Many asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!!! I just used a whole stick of margarine, added 4 cloves of fresh garlic, and a couple packs of red pepper flakes. (the kind you get from the pizza place :) I just got done making it for my brother, fiancee, and friend. We all loved it!!!! Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny.omega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this soup exactly according to the recipie and it was very good! My boyfriend loved it! I felt the celery and onion kind of over powered everything else, but the flavor was still good. I did use a littlke more broccoli than was called for since I didn't need the rest of the bag for something else. Next time I will add even more broccoli, go half on the onion and lose the celery all together. Overall a great recipie that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boonton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed it exactly as written here except that I used cheddar cheese. Mine didn't come out thick enough, so I think I should have let the milk mixture thicken a lot more before I added the chicken broth/veggie mixture to it. Also, I found that 6 Tbs. of butter was WAY too much. There was a 1/4" layer of butter that formed on the top and wouldn't mix in with the rest of the soup. Also, I strongly suggest using at LEAST 1 1/2 cups of broccoli or even 2 cups. Otherwise, the soup won't have much of anything with substance in it. I'm glad I used sharp cheddar because, otherwise, I think it would have had almost no flavor. I strongly suggest adding some garlic or garlic powder to it. I will not be making this again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is really good. I changed the cheese to Munster, added some thyme, minced garlic and curry powder. Also used 2c half n half instead of milk. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I don't rate often, but this soup deserves it! I used more broccoli - about 3-4 cups and simmered it with a carrot until very tender about 15 mins. I used deli American cheese because it melts more smoothly than cheddar and I think is better for you than Velveeta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States