Cheese Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
Great recipe! I followed another suggestion and reduced the amount of water to 7 cups. In addition, I added 6 pieces of bacon, cooked and crumbled, to the soup when I added the sliced Velveeta. I'll be making this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Followed this one exactly and my only complaint is that the Velveeta never completely melted but by the time it did enough to eat, the potatos were overdone. Next time I would add more potatos so that it will be a bit more chunky. Second bowl in I added some cumin and liked it even better. Paprika, chives, and crutons for garnish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Didn't really care for this at our house. It taste more like potato soup than cheese soup and I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
OOOh so very good! Really this should be titled as a potato cheese soup - but whatever it is, it's wonderful, quick and easy to make. Using red potatoes, I have made this exactly as the recipe suggested with a just bit of sharp cheddar on top and another time, added venison sausage - both times were great. This does not have the "canned" taste I was expecting. I like to mash the potato cubes just enough to "roughen" them up - the addition of the soup and cheese give plenty of creaminess without having to mash up the potatoes too much. Thanks so much to the contributor! On to my second helping....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This truly is the best soup ive ever tasted! My whole family loves it. Tastes great with pieces of tortilla chips and shredded cheese on top of the soup! --thank you!!! laura, So. Ca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I made 1/2 recipe of this to try it out, and I am glad I did! This was very boring tasting. I thought it was strange to go through the work of making homemade potato soup and then adding a can of soup. The canned soup dominated the flavor and it ended up tasting like "canned cheese potato soup!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
very good a little thin but thats o.k. my family loves crackers with soup.i did add 4oz extra cheese will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was fairly quick and very easy! It reminds me of the cheese soup at one my favorite restaurants. Wonderful on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2000
Very easy to make and delicious. My 11 year old picky eater loved it. I added cooked cubed potatoes at the end to make it a more hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This tasted great and was pretty easy to make. I was almost done making it when I found out I didn't have the condensed soup. I added a little sour cream instead and it tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States