Cheese Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Loved this recipe! Made two batches-one as listed (that was mine), the other for my husband & vegetarian son, both who need the extra calories. For their soup, I used regular American cheese and 2% milk. We all loved it! Next time I may add a few more potatoes. The hot sauce was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
This soup is so good, it is impossible to tell it is low in fat. To make preparation even quicker, I use frozen pototoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Didn't have any American cheese on hand so I substituted shredded Colby Jack. Followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Very tasty but a bit watery. Next time I will add A LOT more potatoes to thicken it up. The hot sauce is a great touch!!! All in all, very good, very easy and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I was in a hurry and had to use 100% fat free chicken broth. I did dice the potatos but because I didn't want to make use my food processor for the other veggies, I thinly sliced them. The results after the mashing was slightly lumpy but I called it "soup with body". My husband liked it very much and I'll make it again and again...even for guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
It was ok. I do not think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunkissed3894

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was my first attempt at making a cream soup, and I was surprised at how good this came out, and very filling. The only thing I might change next time is to substitute broccoli for the carrots. This recipe is very forgiving and you can modify it to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Great soup on a cold winter night. I made a few changes. I doubled the recipe and increased a couple things: 1.5 cups carrots, 1.5 cups celery, 8 potatoes. I mashed all veggies but left some larger veggie bits for texture. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and 2% milk instead of skim. I used the medium size velveeta and tore it into pieces so it melted faster. I served in bowls, topped with a bit of parsley and put a warm breadstick right in the bowl. Add milk when you reheat leftovers as the soup thickens. Rave reviews from everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Tasted okay, but very, very watery. I would add another potato to thicken it. I also ended up adding some sour cream after it was done to make it a bit more creamy. Very fast to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Very yummy. I added some steamed broccoli and a couple of potatoes and had this healthy meal for lunch! Next time I might leave out the hot sauce or use less, as it almost overshadowed the soups cheesy taste. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
One of my favorite foods. I am a vegertarian and it is just perfect. The hot sauce makes it perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States