Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Simple yet perfect cheese sauce! Tip to avoid 'gritty' sauce: You have to go old school and shred cheese from a block. Packaged shredded cheese is coated with flour to prevent shreds from sticking together, and this will make the sauce slightly gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
outstanding. I doubled it, followed it exact. poured it over penne with some chicken pieces and broccoli. AWESOME Sauce...almost alfredo like, but better...added some garlic as well for a bit of flavor. will use this all the time now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrszink02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very easy and quick to make and even though I'm one of the lucky moms who's kids WILL eat their broccoli without a cheese sauce, I tend to not like it too much, so it helps me! LOL I made this once with old cheddar and it was MUCH better than with medium, so if you're going to make it stick to old or extra old cheddar. Thanks for this recipe! I'm sure I'll use it often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used the recipe to make a Cheddar Potato Bake. I tripled the recipe, boiled 5 lbs potato cut into bite size pieces until almost done. Drained the potato and stirred in enough cheese sauce and some left over bacon crumbled then poured into a buttered 9x13 pan. Baked for about 30 minutes, sprinkled some bread crumbs over top return to oven till browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie Ginny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willow Springs, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is the cheese sauce I learned to make in Home Ec. class years ago. Once you learn how to make the white sauce, you can add many things to it for home cooking. Some things I've learned over the years: 1. you need to cook the flour and butter for a bit so the sauce doesn't have a raw flour taste 2. you have to keep the heat very low, or turn it off, when you add the shredded cheese or it will clump up and separate; once the cheese has been added, do not use high heat 3.you need to shred your cheese from a block of cheese, anything that is pre-shredded has added flour to keep the shredded cheese separate. It will make your cheese sauce gritty. I add different things to the basic sauce to give it different flavors - garlic when melting the butter, or Worcestershire sauce for more flavor, sometimes different mustards. This is good on any vegetable or potato. By changing the type of cheese, you get many different sauces. Great recipe! Thanks Samantha for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious cheese sauce instead of shredded cheddar I used velveta cause I couldn't find my hand shredder. Came out perfect and smooth. I did change it from 2 cups milk to one cup heavy cream and 1 cup milk was heaven. My honey and son put it even on their pork chops...lol -wakswpnthr41
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Perfect! and delicious. Just what I was looking for to pour over broccoli for something different. I used a mix of Gouda and American (because that's what I had) and I'm sure you can use just about any cheese you like. Thanks webbsk for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delicious, very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made exactly as stated with skim milk. Next time will use corn starch instead of flour, had just a little flour taste, it is good though. This recipe makes more than is needed for 1 head cauliflower, IMO. Used leftovers on nachos the next night, just added a bit of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great flavor, but for some reason mine was thin, and it didn't seem to stick to the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States