Cheese Rosti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is very good! I used the HUGE russet potatoes at Costco, so it only takes about 4-5 of those. I also think I may have layered the potatoes too thick. I would say about 1-1 1/2 inch thick would cook the most evenly. I also used garlic salt instead of salt, and about 1/2 teas of parsley & 1/2 teas of oregano on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
i eat this in villag'e in Singapore all the time! they serve it with a sausage, fried egg, and sour cream... gosh it tastes soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Yum! I didn't precook the potatoes at all - just grated them, assembled the whole thing in a pan and browned the bottom, added a little water and put a lid on them until the potatoes steamed and were soft (which only took a few minutes) then flipped them over to brown the other side. Came out perfect. Reminds me of family vacations to Wisconsin when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
My husband is Swiss and he was so impressed with this-he said he has never tasted a homemade rosti so good! So easy and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Simply delicious! I scaled down to use just 3 potatoes so it remains thinner and crispier. Great with a runny egg on top. Already a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for the kids last night as I wanted a "different" potato dish - it was great! I was short on time so instead of boiling, I grated the raw potatoes and put them in the microwave for 5 minutes - they came out fine. The rosti flipped just fine and I put the final product on a plate lined with paper towels to catch the grease from the cheese and it did not serve up as greasy. I used emmenthaler as that's what I had on hand. I think next time I will prepare the same way but grate some onion into the potato as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I made this as a side dish to bbq'd steak and while the flavour was great - we found it VERY greasy. I followed the recipe *almost* exactly. I did not par-cook the potatoes before grating, I used raw potatoes and it worked out just fine. I also used cheddar cheese instead of swiss because that's what I had on hand. If we were to make this again, we would only add butter to the skillet initially, and not butter on the remaining layers. The end result was good and it was nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Very good... but I used cheddar cheese to make it more like the Rosti at the Royal Winter Fair. :) Takes quite a while to make... way more than 5 minutes to brown the first side... more like 10. Worth the effort, but needs extras to be worth a 5... onions.. bacon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROKENCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is great. I used two pounds of the pre shredded potatoes that you can get in the refrigerated section at the grocery store to save some time. I added some diced onion garlic powder, and a little leftover crumbled bacon that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I'm an American who has moved to Switzerland to live with my fiancé and I lived here for almost 3 years now so I do know how to make TRUE Swiss Rösti. Although this recipe is close the Swiss use Gruyére cheese in their Rösti, it's delicious!! This cheese is most popular in Switzerland. You can buy this cheese in America, but it might not be easy to find and is on the expensive side (in America) but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States