Cheese Rosti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Imagine really cheesy, slightly crispy, and a little lumpy mashed potatoes and you have this recipe. It was so good. I didn't make any adjustments and my husband, daughter and I loved this. In fact, we were fighting over who got the crispy parts (they are the best). When it was time to turn the potatoes I flipped mine over onto a plate and then slid back into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Because I only let my potatoes cool long enough that I could touch them I really didn't need to cook them very long. I basically left them in the frying pan long enough to get a crispy crust and the cheese to melt. I have to say these are a do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is great. I used two pounds of the pre shredded potatoes that you can get in the refrigerated section at the grocery store to save some time. I added some diced onion garlic powder, and a little leftover crumbled bacon that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This dish tastes so good, it's almost illegal! I did the potatoes in the microwave after peeling them -- 3 large at 5 minutes high (I scaled down) and then put them in cold water to cool. I didn't have Swiss cheese so I used mozerella and it turned out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
I made this recipe for my husband & I & he loved it. He normally don't ask or perfer leftovers but he actually wanted the leftovers from this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I made this for the kids last night as I wanted a "different" potato dish - it was great! I was short on time so instead of boiling, I grated the raw potatoes and put them in the microwave for 5 minutes - they came out fine. The rosti flipped just fine and I put the final product on a plate lined with paper towels to catch the grease from the cheese and it did not serve up as greasy. I used emmenthaler as that's what I had on hand. I think next time I will prepare the same way but grate some onion into the potato as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Simply delicious! I scaled down to use just 3 potatoes so it remains thinner and crispier. Great with a runny egg on top. Already a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
My husband is Swiss and he was so impressed with this-he said he has never tasted a homemade rosti so good! So easy and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Yum! I didn't precook the potatoes at all - just grated them, assembled the whole thing in a pan and browned the bottom, added a little water and put a lid on them until the potatoes steamed and were soft (which only took a few minutes) then flipped them over to brown the other side. Came out perfect. Reminds me of family vacations to Wisconsin when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is so simple and so FABULOUS!! I followed the post about cutting the potatoes into sections before flipping and had no trouble what so over. I would recommend not to peel the potatoes and just grate them after boiling. The peel on red potatoes come off as you grate and it is hassle free! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie &Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made this today for father's day.... super yummy... Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States