Cheese Rosti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
This dish tastes so good, it's almost illegal! I did the potatoes in the microwave after peeling them -- 3 large at 5 minutes high (I scaled down) and then put them in cold water to cool. I didn't have Swiss cheese so I used mozerella and it turned out divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Yum! I didn't precook the potatoes at all - just grated them, assembled the whole thing in a pan and browned the bottom, added a little water and put a lid on them until the potatoes steamed and were soft (which only took a few minutes) then flipped them over to brown the other side. Came out perfect. Reminds me of family vacations to Wisconsin when I was a kid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
Imagine really cheesy, slightly crispy, and a little lumpy mashed potatoes and you have this recipe. It was so good. I didn't make any adjustments and my husband, daughter and I loved this. In fact, we were fighting over who got the crispy parts (they are the best). When it was time to turn the potatoes I flipped mine over onto a plate and then slid back into the pan. They turned out beautifully. Because I only let my potatoes cool long enough that I could touch them I really didn't need to cook them very long. I basically left them in the frying pan long enough to get a crispy crust and the cheese to melt. I have to say these are a do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Although we all thought this was good, I didn't think it was worth the effort being that you can basically do the same thing with leftover mashed potatoes. I seasoned the dish quite a bit more than called for and also added chopped onion and green peppers. Definitely good advice to flip this onto a plate rather than trying to turn it in the pan. To make turning a little easier,I think I'll make individual sevings the next time I serve this dish. Thanks Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I'm an American who has moved to Switzerland to live with my fiancé and I lived here for almost 3 years now so I do know how to make TRUE Swiss Rösti. Although this recipe is close the Swiss use Gruyére cheese in their Rösti, it's delicious!! This cheese is most popular in Switzerland. You can buy this cheese in America, but it might not be easy to find and is on the expensive side (in America) but it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Very good but kinda messy to make...esspecially when trying to "crisp" the other side (tried sliding it onto a plate so that I may easier invert it back into the pan but some of it stuck and got clumpy). I used a combo of Swiss and cheddar cheese. The appearance was the only minor detraction - still very good! Thanks Bob!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I see that a lot of others complained about boiling, cooling and shredding potatoes. I used the Simply Shredded hash browns from the frigerator section. Worked perfect!! Before flipping, I cut into sections for easy flipping and serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is great. I used two pounds of the pre shredded potatoes that you can get in the refrigerated section at the grocery store to save some time. I added some diced onion garlic powder, and a little leftover crumbled bacon that I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this a few weeks ago for my husband, who is Swiss (I am American but we are living in Switzerland). Rosti is the same thing as hash browns, just with a different name. You really shouldn't need any of the butter that this recipe calls for, unless you're using an extremely dry/bland cheese (why would you do that?). When I made it as the recipe calls, it came out EXTREMELY greasy. With that much cheese in there, as you cook it, the oils from the cheese will start to come out and that in itself is plenty to cook this in. So, my suggestion, leave out the butter, get a cheese that has a ton of FLAVOR, and finally, add ketchup when it's all done, 'cuz ketchup makes everything tasty ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is very good! I used the HUGE russet potatoes at Costco, so it only takes about 4-5 of those. I also think I may have layered the potatoes too thick. I would say about 1-1 1/2 inch thick would cook the most evenly. I also used garlic salt instead of salt, and about 1/2 teas of parsley & 1/2 teas of oregano on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States