Cheese Rosti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
It turned out to be so delicious. I added black olives, oregano and chilli flakes to spice it up a little as my family is a spice freak. Loved it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Made a version of this with reduced servings(3).Grated 3 spuds 1/2 cup grated parmesan ,1/2 tsp garlic powder salt and pepper to taste. Also added 1 egg to bind it. Added2 tbsps water as well. Turned the uncooked grated potatoes into cast iron pan that I oiled with 2T olive oil. Covered the pan and it is cooking as I type. So far so good :) Turned out not too badly. Needs a little more tweeking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My 13 yr. old son found this authentic french recipe for his French II class. We followed the recipe except we used 4 potatoes. We grated the potatoes when cool, added some black pepper and salt, then refrigerated overnight. I finished making it in the morning so it was warm for the class. I put a layer of potatoes, then cheese (6 oz), then a top layer of the remaining potatoes. Another recipe said to flatten the potatoes in the pan which helped a lot when it was time to flip. I used a 12 in nonstick pan. A spatula wouldn't have worked. I used a flat stone pizza pan, placed it on top of the nonstick pan and flipped the rosti onto the stone then slid it back into the nonstick pan to brown the other side. I think the rosti would have fallen apart if I didn't do it this way. It was also nice to have the cheese in the middle to help hold it all together. The class loved the rosti. My son won first place! My husband wants it for his birthday breakfast next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was a super yummy side dish! I peeled and microwaved my potatoes for a few minutes, then grated. I lightly oiled a pan, layered on some potato, some grated mozzarella, salt and pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning, topped with some more potatoes and the seasonings. I fried it until it covered, didn't need any water or extra butter. When it was browned and crispy on the bottom, I cut it in half and flipped it (easier than flipping it whole). When it was browned and crispy...I served it with a dollop of sour cream. Will be making this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Tasty. I used frozen shredded hash brown potatoes and Dubliner cheese. The crispy bits are delicious, especially where the cheese had seeped through and was browned and toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
WOW! My daughter made this for a school project & we had it with our dinner. The ENTIRE family was impressed even her little brothers (8 & 4). We will be having this many more times! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I made this a few weeks ago for my husband, who is Swiss (I am American but we are living in Switzerland). Rosti is the same thing as hash browns, just with a different name. You really shouldn't need any of the butter that this recipe calls for, unless you're using an extremely dry/bland cheese (why would you do that?). When I made it as the recipe calls, it came out EXTREMELY greasy. With that much cheese in there, as you cook it, the oils from the cheese will start to come out and that in itself is plenty to cook this in. So, my suggestion, leave out the butter, get a cheese that has a ton of FLAVOR, and finally, add ketchup when it's all done, 'cuz ketchup makes everything tasty ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made this today for father's day.... super yummy... Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasberri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
It was yummy, and very close to rostis I had in Switzerland. I made it as the directions indicated the first time, and it was good. The second time, I added onions and diced tomatoes, and I used gueryre cheese. This made it wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is so simple and so FABULOUS!! I followed the post about cutting the potatoes into sections before flipping and had no trouble what so over. I would recommend not to peel the potatoes and just grate them after boiling. The peel on red potatoes come off as you grate and it is hassle free! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie &Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States