Cheese Puffs (Gougeres) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These came out great! The recipe -- which is really justcream puffs with cheese added -- is foolproof if you follow it correctly. Make sure the oven is hot enough, and make sure you beat each egg in completely before you add the next. You can't rush things, or you get cookies, like another reviewer said. I made mine a little smaller than ping-pong balls, poked a hole in each, and piped in fillings: crab salad, bacon-cheese dip, and Borsin cheese spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
With puffs like this you have to watch the weather. If it is rainy and cloudy they will not always puff. I used the pepper cheese and my husband loved them. Dropped them from a pastry tube, and they puffed fine. I am going to play with this with some other cheeses and let you all know how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe turned out great but I was wondering if you could let these turn cold then reheat them because my daughter has to do a project on french cuisine and I haped that she could bring them to school and then reheat them in the oven there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msmarieann
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe really worked well. I read the one review ahead of me who said they turned into cookies, and I have to admit that mine didn't do that. The only thing that was confusing was the matter of the eggs. You're going to separate and reserve 1 egg. The egg yolk you will mix with 2 Tablespoons of milk to make the glaze, and the white you're going to beat into the mix. When you incorporate the eggs, do so one at a time. Ensure that you mix them all very well after each addition. When I piped them out, I just used a Ziploc bag that I cut a 1/2 inch tip off one corner then piped them out. Don't flatten them, make nice little mounds. I also added a pinch of baking powder just to ensure they puffed up. It works everytime. I'm too much of a puss not to do that! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
super super super super super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were amazing!!! I used half of the chill and cayenne powders that the original recipe called for and it was just wonderful. I do highly recommend some kind of non-stick surface to bake on, otherwise they can get pretty stuck on the baking sheet (though they didn't taste any different).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Great recipe and especially yummy with the diced pepperoni! One thing I did different was use mini muffin pans instead of cookie sheets - this resolved the issue one of the other posters had with them flattening out like cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Thank you so much for this recipe, your a life saver, really needed this for my high school foods class :D. thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used pepper jack cheese instead of the Gruyere cheese to make them kind of spicy. I thought the recipe was easy to follow and made delicious puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I was a bit reluctant on this one because it's a lot of work and some reviewers found it disappointing. I made it as written when I had neighbours coming over, and a huge success. Puffed up beautifully, very tasty. I might try sharper cheese and maybe a sprinkle of bacon bits or diced ham, but in the meantime, I recommend the recipe highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States