Cheese Puffs (Gougeres) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by msmarieann
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This recipe really worked well. I read the one review ahead of me who said they turned into cookies, and I have to admit that mine didn't do that. The only thing that was confusing was the matter of the eggs. You're going to separate and reserve 1 egg. The egg yolk you will mix with 2 Tablespoons of milk to make the glaze, and the white you're going to beat into the mix. When you incorporate the eggs, do so one at a time. Ensure that you mix them all very well after each addition. When I piped them out, I just used a Ziploc bag that I cut a 1/2 inch tip off one corner then piped them out. Don't flatten them, make nice little mounds. I also added a pinch of baking powder just to ensure they puffed up. It works everytime. I'm too much of a puss not to do that! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmarieann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These came out great! The recipe -- which is really justcream puffs with cheese added -- is foolproof if you follow it correctly. Make sure the oven is hot enough, and make sure you beat each egg in completely before you add the next. You can't rush things, or you get cookies, like another reviewer said. I made mine a little smaller than ping-pong balls, poked a hole in each, and piped in fillings: crab salad, bacon-cheese dip, and Borsin cheese spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inskydiamonds
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used pepper jack cheese instead of the Gruyere cheese to make them kind of spicy. I thought the recipe was easy to follow and made delicious puffs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inskydiamonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is good - no doubt. But I made a 2nd version using already bought flaky biscuit dough and just adding the cheese and herbs/spices and then followed baking directions. What a time saver! Sandra Lee - whatch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I doubled the recipe, following the recipe exactly, but did not use leftover egg yolk for puff tops. Dropping dough by teaspoons made the "puffs" flat. Next batch I used a ziploc bag, snipped the corner, and piped the dough out in small drops; baked one sheet at a time. This was successful, but it did take a long time. I liked them, but my daughter's class thought they were a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
With puffs like this you have to watch the weather. If it is rainy and cloudy they will not always puff. I used the pepper cheese and my husband loved them. Dropped them from a pastry tube, and they puffed fine. I am going to play with this with some other cheeses and let you all know how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe turned out great but I was wondering if you could let these turn cold then reheat them because my daughter has to do a project on french cuisine and I haped that she could bring them to school and then reheat them in the oven there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
super super super super super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My batch puffed up fine. I thought the taste was a little eggy *like cream puffs* All in all pretty good alternative to making buscuits when wanting a lighter more airy texture but the same taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Excellent Recipe. They are a big hit. I followed recipe and they came out fine. I added Salmon filling and they were very very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States