Cheese Puff Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe was a bit difficult to execute. The dough was very sticky. I ended up adding almost another cup of flour just so I could handle it. I used 1 1/2 c cheese (ran out) and it was still very cheesy. I did add salt, a little garlic as others suggested. After adding the extra flour is was easy to roll and cover the olives. Black olives tasted better than the green when cooked. Even cool the puff coating was good, but not the olive flavor. Not real keen on the overall taste. This would be very tasty with mini hot dogs. I did cook for 17 minutes and had no problem with doughy centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
They turned out really good. One slight modification: 1) I would increase the baking time to about 17 minutes. Some of my puffs were still doughy in the center, but that might have been because they were too thick. I tried making some with olives (kalamata olives - the good kind!) and some plain, just in case they didn't turn out too good, so I wouldn't have wasted the olives. But the ones with the olives turned out way better than the plain ones!! :) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I lost my recipe for this years ago and am so happy to have found it here. These are great! My whole family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are excellent warm, but I didnt like them once they cooled off. I'll use a warming tray next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Awesome, make again. Try to keep the dough thin, otherwise the ball is too big for one bite, and you can't taste the olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
everyone loved this! The recipe wasn't clear about exactly what kind of olives to use so I used your basic green olives marinated with pimentos. They were great! I also added chopped green onions to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This had no flavor to it until I added some extra stuff to it (I did do the recipe without the green olive). I threw in some garlic powder, seasoning salt, grated parmesan cheese and a little water to help stick it together. They turned out better and they were gone at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
they are even great without the olives!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROYALE333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Greenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was not popular at my party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
No one touched it. Hot olives in dough just doesnt work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States