Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
When a friend of mine who had lived in Italy for 2 years had a slice of this, he immediately asked for the recipe! Thanks for making me look skilled in the kitchen. I didn't have all the individual spices so I added 4 tsp Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp garlic powder instead. I used olive oil in place of the butter for a more Italian flavor, added 5 Tbsp grated Parmesan instead of 3, and reduced the yeast to 2 tsp. ALSO, I noticed several comments about the bread falling. When using cheese in automatic bread machines, be sure that it is mild. Sharp cheese can cause the dough to rise too quickly and then collapse due to the enzymes that some sharp cheeses contain. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe for bread. I don't use a bread machine and was worried it wouldn't work. It turned out great! The only part of the recipe I changed a bit was the seasonings. I had to use what I could find at the grocery store. It's wonderful just to snack on. My toddler son even loved it! (making the bread the "old fashioned way" I used all purpose flour and set it in a greased bowl in a warm spot, left to rise for about 45 minutes, kneeded it for about 5 min. Then put them in greased (shortening) pan. (I used mini loaf pans) and let rise for about 30 minutes. It ony took about 20 minutes to bake. ( I kept checking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Great bread recipe! My husband couldn't stop raving about it! I think he may have enjoyed it somewhat, since I made this recipe into 10 dinner rolls, and he ate five of them! Instead of butter, I used two tablespoons of garlic flavored olive oil. Left out marjoram and used fresh rosemary from the herb garden.Mmmm Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I was looking for a recipe for herbed pull-apart bread when I came across this one and figured it could be adapted for my purposes. I did use the italian seasonings with the basil and a T. of garlic powder. Set the machine for the dough cycle and made balls of the dough when it was ready. I rolled the balls in a stick of melted butter with a little garlic powder mixed in and placed about 5 dough balls in each of 24 muffin cups, sprinkled with the remaining butter and some more parmesan. They were terrific. A dozen are going to work for a bake sale and the rest (what there are!) stay here. My bread machine will make a 2# loaf, so I will try to scale it up to make a few more rolls next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used all-purpose flour, regular milk, 1 tablespoon of margarine and 1 tablespoon of olive oil, about 5 tablespoons of 3 cheese blend (parmesan, asiago, and romano), a tablespoon or so of Italian seasoning, a few good shakes of garlic powder, and just under a tablespoon of yeast. I don't have a bread machine, so I mixed it with the stand mixer using the dough hooks. Then I kneaded it for 6 or 7 minutes and put it in an oiled bowl to rise until doubled in size. After it doubled, I punched it down and put it back in the bowl to rise a little more. 20 minutes or so later I put it on a lightly greased baking sheet, forming it into a French bread-shape. I baked it at 350 degrees for 30 or 35 minutes until it was a lovely golden color. It needs more seasoning and cheese, but I did alter the recipe a lot. I'll play with it some more so it's more to my family's taste, maybe add some olives. :) It turned out pretty yummy though! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Great bread! I used fresh herbs and it was wonderful. I used the dough cycle only on the bread machine- took dough out, let rest for 10 minutes then lightly kneaded a few times in olive oil. Put bread in loaf pan- let rise until double in size. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This bread tastes really great, but I wouldn't recommend baking it in a breadmaker. Just like a previous reviewer, mine fluffed so vigorously it stuck to the inside lid, and half of this yummy loaf was scraped off into the sink! Take the extra time and do this one by hand, and add a little rosemary and Italian seasoning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
This was a family favorite! Simple, flavorful, and extraordinarily fluffy. I'll probably use a little less yeast in future as the bread grew until it pressed the top of the machine, but keeping everyone on tiptoes and out of the kitchen prevented any falling, so the end product had a wonderful airy texture. I also added garlic (1 teaspoon) and substituted Romano cheese (4 tablespoons for even more flavor) for Parmesan. Went perfectly with tomato basil soup and club sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
A really delicious bread. I used fresh milk rather than the dry milk powder, and went with another reviewer's suggestion and used 3 tsp of Italian seasonings. It smelled wonderful when baking, and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
The first time I made this, I didn't like it at all. But maybe my my taste budds has changed a little... everyone in my family including my 8 yrs old daughter and her friend LOVED it!! I used olive oil since I thought it's a little healthier. I didn't really taste any of cheese. I may increase the cheese to 5Tbsp as others suggested for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States