Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
good bread, you can put it with almost anything. you can also add a tablespoon of fresh pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I really like the taste of this bread, the herbs are great! But...it was super sticky and wet! I will definitely decrease the amount of water next time I try to shape and bake in the oven. Maybe it would be okay baked in the bread machine as is, without decreasing the water? I think I will definitely try both ways. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is the best bread I've ever tasted. I made it as listed, though I didn't have any Marjoram and I just omitted it. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This bread was sooooooooo good; I think next time I will add some garlic too it. The bread tastes like pizza!! Yummilicious for sure!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygirl1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Using the advice of others, I did use less yeast as I set mine on a timer, so I used 1 packet that = 2 1/4 tsp. It came out fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I subbed 3 tea. Italian Seasoning (instead of using the called for marjoram, thyme, basil and oregano) and the bread came out great. DH said it tasted like Macaroni Grill's bread. Mine caved in, but I've read that is due to too much moisture in the loaf. The dough did seem rather wet, so next time I will reduce the water to 1 cup and see what happens. Otherwise, this was a great tasting loaf and DH toasted a slice and made a deli sandwich with it that is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I used 1 cup of rye bread flour for some of the white and 1/4 cup mixed cheese along with garlic granules. I didn't have any Marjoram. I was worried about it collapsing and wasting these ingredients so I took out to bake, at that time I should have added some chunks of cheese thru out to make it more cheesy. The herb flavour was good just not cheesy enough. Would make again with noted change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Another excellent bread! I asked my husband "what do you think" and he replied" tastes just like the bread I had yesterday at Macaroni Grill". Cooked perfectly. I used way more basil, fresh & dried. Only used 2 1/2 teaspoons yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I have made this bread dozens of times over the last year and half and without fail it is one of our favorites. The original recipe yields a great bread, but I often adjust it depending on what we need. The first time I made it I was new to making my own bread and I didn't knead it long enough, the bread still tasted ok, but it didn't rise into a nice fluffy chewy loaf! Since then, I've experimented a lot, sometimes leaving out all the spices for a simpler white bread. I've also left out the parmesan when i don't have it on hand and it's still great. I have found that when i use bread flour, i get an even more chewy texture which we love. I also always add reg. milk instead of powdered, as i never have that on hand. Usually i divide the dough into two smaller balls and bake them on a cookie sheet. Sometime I double the recipe, divide it into four balls and freeze the dough in a zip lock baggie. I can just take it out the morning i want to bake it and let it rise/defrost. I love serving this bread to company because everyone is always so impressed that I made it, it’s so good! I hope you try this bread, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Loved it! I'll add more cheese next time. I think I might put some in during different intervals. Some of the slices seemed to have it and others didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States