Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Just not my Favorite bread from this site. The herbs were good but the crumb just wasn't what I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
It rose way too high in the bread machine so it collapsed near the end of the bake cycle. Great tasting bread though, just use less yeast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G.Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippagan, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyTMarie
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My loaf had the consistency of a quick bread and was very bland even after I increased the cheese to 5 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This bread is delicious, my family - even my kids - just love this bread! I agree with the others who have recommended reducing the yeast to one packet or 2 tsp. I think I read the recipe wrong the first time and added less yeast than written and it came out fine; second and third time I read it correctly and had a huge rise then deep collapse, which resulted in tasty but very oddly shaped bread. I use fresh herbs out of my garden, chopped in the mini food processor. I usually do 1TB rosemary, 1TB thyme, 2 tsp oregano, 2 tsp basil. The choice of herbs can easily be changed to suit your meal, as long as the total amount of fresh herbs comes to 3TB+1tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frank Barnett
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I adapted the recipe for the oven. I followed the recipe as written, then allowed it to rise in a well oiled bowl until doubled in size. I punched it down and divided into 3 portions, making a "rope" from each. Pinching the ends together, I braided the "ropes", tucking the pinched ends underneath. Let rise again until doubled, applied egg wash and baked at 350 on a preheated pizza stone. I also sprayed water on the sides of the oven at the beginning and about halfway thru to add moisture to the air. If you look at "other photos" you can see the result. Wonderful aroma, wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
MMMM! Eating a warm slice of this right now.... Perfect as is, but my personal little changes would include adding a little more parmesan and a little garlic powder. Also, I have a small bread machine so this load was too big (it stuck to the top of my bread machine!). I'll make a smaller one next time... Also, could add some chunks of cheese too. This tastes just like the "Subway Italian Herb and Cheese" bread... Very good. Nice to change up from a plain white loaf. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L.Cumminger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I made this for a bake sale and had orders for 2 more loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmsteen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Wonderful! I've been making this recipe for over a year with the following modifications: I use fresh milk, and either reduce water by that amount or add a little extra flour. I reduce yeast to 2 tsp so my loaf isn't HUGE. I replace butter with olive oil, use 1/4 cup parm. cheese, 3 tsp Italian seasoning, and 1 tsp garlic powder. I serve with olive oil, parm. cheese, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I made this as written, in the bread machine. Turned out well, although top did cave in a little. Could've been my fault bc i messed up hte timer function and it was ready earlier than i expected. very flavorful, and served as toast with eggs today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
The Best, the best! Made it just as recipe stated. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan C. Wheeler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States