Cheese Herb Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I LOVED this bread! I didn't have any dry milk powder so I used powdered buttermilk. Also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. The ratio of dry to wet ingredients was perfect. Oh, I only used 2 tsp of yeast though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Wonderful bread! Such a great aroma. I made exactly as written and loved it but gave four stars because it hit the top of my machine and even oozed out the sides a bit. I've never used more than two tsp. of yeast in my machine and was hesitant but wanted to follow the recipe exactly the first time. Made a second loaf with two teaspoons yeast, 1 tablespoon of sugar instead of two and used 2 cups unbleached all purpose flour and 1 cup whole wheat. Turned out perfect. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great bread! I did increase the cheese to 1/3 cup and all herbs to 1 1/2 tsp. This bread makes an excellent grilled cheese - spread bread with marinara sauce and add mozzerlla cheese then grill. Has become a regular in our household. Also good spread with cream cheese. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was a snap to assemble. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from beginning to end, as I'm not one that has a bread maker. I had to add one more tbsp. of flour to get the bread to jump on the bread hook, but other than that, I made no changes. It's rising in the bread pan now, so I'll update how the family liked it after dinner. Just for ease and smell, it deserves five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fantastic! I served this with spinach artichoke dip. I read the reviews first and followed the suggestions to only add 1 packet of yeast. I also added a little garlic powder and rosemary. I used olive oil instead of butter. This recipes gives me a reason to use my bread machine again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Familiar with basic bread recipes, and given the benefit of other reviewers, I made some adjustments on this recipe. It's a delicious bread, but it still could use some tweaking in the measurements. Even reducing the sugar and yeast to two tsp. each, this still rose more than I would have liked and wasn't as dense as I prefer. This was very light and fluffy. I used a small handful of fresh chopped herbs over the dried--parsley, sage, rosemary, thyme and oregano. I also substituted olive oil for the butter. While not a perfect recipe, this was the perfect bread for our grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Just not my Favorite bread from this site. The herbs were good but the crumb just wasn't what I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
It rose way too high in the bread machine so it collapsed near the end of the bake cycle. Great tasting bread though, just use less yeast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G.Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shippagan, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadyTMarie
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My loaf had the consistency of a quick bread and was very bland even after I increased the cheese to 5 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyTMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This bread is delicious, my family - even my kids - just love this bread! I agree with the others who have recommended reducing the yeast to one packet or 2 tsp. I think I read the recipe wrong the first time and added less yeast than written and it came out fine; second and third time I read it correctly and had a huge rise then deep collapse, which resulted in tasty but very oddly shaped bread. I use fresh herbs out of my garden, chopped in the mini food processor. I usually do 1TB rosemary, 1TB thyme, 2 tsp oregano, 2 tsp basil. The choice of herbs can easily be changed to suit your meal, as long as the total amount of fresh herbs comes to 3TB+1tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States