Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Can this be mixed the day before and covered/set in the fridge? maybe the liquid would get soaked in the grits and not work out for a next morning baking. thoughts?? thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! My kind of comfort food. Followed it to a "T" except for these changes: Added 1 tsp of minced garlic, quick-cooking grits and used a block of Velveeta processed cheese. Left out the hot sauce and for me it was still perfect. But, would like to try it with the hot sauce, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I fixed this for a brunch and it was a hit! I added about 1 1/2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I also used a bit more water cooking the grits to have the finished product more of a grits consistancy, rather than a casserole consistancy. I used only 1 tbsp of hot sauce and that was just the perfect amount. Thanks for an awesome recipe. It's a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Took this to a family fish fry yesterday and the bowl was practically licked clean! My father-in-law refuses to eat grits, but I convinced him to give this a try. He went back for seconds. I'll be making this many more times. Thanks from one Carmen to another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
The whole family really enjoyed this. I changed it around just a little. I added garlic. Used chedder cheese instead of american and topped it with parmesan cheese. Oh and I used smoked tobasco hot sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I make this with instant grits according to package directions, then mix all the stuff together & bake. I made this for my Seattle in-laws who had never had grits and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crumbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
CARMEN, YOU ARE A MIRACLE WORKER!!!!!!!!!! This recipe is perfect. It will be a keeper! Tomasina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Sooooo good! We loved this recipe and the hot sauce adds a great kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I've made these a couple of times now and we love them! Tried one time with Cheddar Cheese but really do prefer them made with American Chees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I agree with all the other reviewers, this recipe is a keeper and great with all sorts of dishes,thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States