Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
The whole family really enjoyed this. I changed it around just a little. I added garlic. Used chedder cheese instead of american and topped it with parmesan cheese. Oh and I used smoked tobasco hot sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I fixed this for a brunch and it was a hit! I added about 1 1/2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. I also used a bit more water cooking the grits to have the finished product more of a grits consistancy, rather than a casserole consistancy. I used only 1 tbsp of hot sauce and that was just the perfect amount. Thanks for an awesome recipe. It's a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
In answer to the question about making this dish ahead of time, yes, you can. I made it the night before and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, then refrigerated it. The next morning I warmed it (covered with foil) for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it came out great. I haven't tried freezing it. I have made this both with processed cheese and sharp cheddar. I think you could use any hard cheese that suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Very good. I used cheddar rather than American cheese and didn't use the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Good side for breakfast or dinner. My husband grow up in the south and said these were the best grits he has ever had. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup and used garlic salt instead of seasoning salt. Would not change beyond that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! My kind of comfort food. Followed it to a "T" except for these changes: Added 1 tsp of minced garlic, quick-cooking grits and used a block of Velveeta processed cheese. Left out the hot sauce and for me it was still perfect. But, would like to try it with the hot sauce, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Can this be mixed the day before and covered/set in the fridge? maybe the liquid would get soaked in the grits and not work out for a next morning baking. thoughts?? thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Took this to a family fish fry yesterday and the bowl was practically licked clean! My father-in-law refuses to eat grits, but I convinced him to give this a try. He went back for seconds. I'll be making this many more times. Thanks from one Carmen to another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I did not actually make this recipe (though it looks great and I plan to in the future!) but I wanted to address the review below mine. It looks like you were expecting something very different- maybe something more like cornbread? You wrote that the texture turned out very similar to cream of wheat. That actually IS what the texture of grits should be like. They aren't something you can pick up and eat with your hands. It looks like the recipe turned out just fine for you, just you were expecting something different. I gave this recipe 5 stars because it has an average of 4.5 stars right now and maybe my rating can kind of even out the 2 stars of the review below mine since it isn't the recipe's fault that the cook didn't know what to expect and they even said they thought the grits tasted great :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
yummy! I like mine a little thinner, consistency of mash potatoes, not thick enough to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States