Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
EVERYONE loved it! Complimented over and over!!! Used White, sharp Cheddar instead of American! Used normal salt! Used Unsalted butter (1-1/2 stick) instead of margarine. Will definitely make over and over!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
yummy! I like mine a little thinner, consistency of mash potatoes, not thick enough to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Good side for breakfast or dinner. My husband grow up in the south and said these were the best grits he has ever had. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup and used garlic salt instead of seasoning salt. Would not change beyond that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
The whole family really enjoyed this. I changed it around just a little. I added garlic. Used chedder cheese instead of american and topped it with parmesan cheese. Oh and I used smoked tobasco hot sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! My kind of comfort food. Followed it to a "T" except for these changes: Added 1 tsp of minced garlic, quick-cooking grits and used a block of Velveeta processed cheese. Left out the hot sauce and for me it was still perfect. But, would like to try it with the hot sauce, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Took this to a family fish fry yesterday and the bowl was practically licked clean! My father-in-law refuses to eat grits, but I convinced him to give this a try. He went back for seconds. I'll be making this many more times. Thanks from one Carmen to another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is good. I mix up the cheese a bit (Swiss, romano, etc.) to liven it up. I also cut the water and replace it with light cream or half & half to make it richer. You can do a lot of things to this recipe and it's still easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Can this be mixed the day before and covered/set in the fridge? maybe the liquid would get soaked in the grits and not work out for a next morning baking. thoughts?? thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I agree with all the other reviewers, this recipe is a keeper and great with all sorts of dishes,thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Great simple recipe. Doesn't require many exotic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States