Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I'm not from the south and when I heard of this dish I expected these to turn out a lot like a buscuit or some type of bread you could hold and eat. They had a great flavor but turned out like a cream of wheat with cheese with no ability to cut them at all. I follewed the recipe 100%, not changing a thing. I even cooked them for longer than the recipe asked and they still turned out mushy. We served them like mashed potatoes because they just wouldnlt hold together. What on earth did I do wrong?! Or is this just how grits end up? Again, they tasted fine, but I don't think I'll be making them again unless I can get them into something we can hold and eat. I'm not one for mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahsuemarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Really good. Don't need as much cheese I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I couldn't find regular grits and had to use quick-5 minute ones. I used 4 cups of water and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Tried it just as is in the recipe, and it was really good, but I like a little more zip in my cheese grits. I think this recipe could be jazzed up a little with diced jalepanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was actually quite yummy, but didn;t go over as well with my toddlers. So honestly, if you love grits, I'd give this 5 stars...I'm only rating 4 for my own use. :) I used about half the cheese and it was still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I thought these grits were excellent. I've made them twice. The first time I used american processed cheese and the second time I went spicy with pepper jack. Both time were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Very good recipe, but so much better if REAL cheese is used. Great with sharp cheddar. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
A bit too too cheesy for our taste. Probably could sub some cottage cheese for American and get creamy but less processed cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
In answer to the question about making this dish ahead of time, yes, you can. I made it the night before and cooked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, then refrigerated it. The next morning I warmed it (covered with foil) for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees and it came out great. I haven't tried freezing it. I have made this both with processed cheese and sharp cheddar. I think you could use any hard cheese that suits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States