Cheese Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
What a great taste! I had some leftover cottage cheese that I wanted to use up and this was the perfect solution! Make sure you drain the fritters well after frying as they do retain the grease. The nutmeg adds an awesome surprise flavor. Light and fluffy and yummy w/raspberry jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I thought these were great! I didn't have any half & half, so I just used the same amount of milk and they turned out great. I'm not a big nutmeg fan, so I substituted cinnamon and ginger. I recommend trying to not make the fritters too large, which can result in the middle not being done. To go with the fritters, I made an apple sauce out of shredded apples, dried cranberries, lemon juice, cinnamon, ginger, butter, water, and a dash or two of salt. I heated on the stove (slightly above medium) until it became somewhat thick (around 15 minutes total). Try cutting the cheese fritters in half and placing the apple sauce on it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These were very tasty! The cottage cheese melts to make a custardy moist interior that contrast with the crisp outside. No one would be able to guess the "secret" ingredient. We loved the flavor of the nutmeg. Be sure to follow the directions and drop in by the rounded T so they cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Very cool recipe. I'm a newbie cook, so I'm looking for simple recipes like this to play with. I was a little messy, but altogether, they tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica53214
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Outstanding! I made an orange sauce to dip these in and they were so good! Great quick breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
OM Gosh but these are good... fluffy little balls of heaven! I didn't have 1/2 & 1/2 so I used milk, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I served them with seedless raspberry jam. I like them enough that I'll be making these for Easter morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
These were delicious! Cheese melted and made them flavorful. Great recipe when you have an extra jar of cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maikodadz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cagayan De Oro, Misamis Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
I made these last Chanukah and found they were fantastic. I made them for a friend who is really picky and he just kept going on and on about how good they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
These are terrific! I will definetly make them again. One tip so you don't make the mistake I did - don't make the dough balls too big. They don't cook in the middle, leaving a creamy center, which is still good, but not how they are supposed to be. Also make sure, as with all oil frying, that your oil it hot hot hot! That way they won't be greasy. These were so tasty, not heavy or greasy at all, and my picky husband who rarely tries anything new even liked them! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Fried Mozzarella Cheese Sticks

See how to make super-simple cheesy mozzarella sticks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States